# GPT-Prompt-Hub: 222 Structured Prompts for Claude, GPT and Gemini

> GPT-Prompt-Hub is an MIT-licensed collection of 222 prompts organised into ten categories, each written as a structured brief rather than an 'act as X' one-liner. The useful part is the format and the file layout; the open question is how you keep a folder of Markdown prompts in sync with your own workflow.

**LichAmnesia/GPT-Prompt-Hub** — GPT-Prompt-Hub is an open-source community-driven repository dedicated to the collection, sharing, and refinement of custom GPT prompts

- Repository: https://github.com/LichAmnesia/GPT-Prompt-Hub
- Stars: 2,395 · Forks: 405
- Language: Unknown
- License: MIT
- Published: 2026-09-28 · Updated: 2026-09-28 · Language: en
- Canonical page: https://hysenlabs.com/projects/lichamnesia-gpt-prompt-hub

## What GPT-Prompt-Hub solves, and who it is actually for

Most prompt collections are screenshots, threads or single-line instructions like "act as a senior engineer". GPT-Prompt-Hub takes the opposite position: the README states that each prompt is a structured brief with six parts, Role, Objective, Inputs, Output, Constraints and Example. That structure is the product. A prompt with an explicit Inputs section forces you to decide what you are feeding the model, and an explicit Constraints section gives you somewhere to put the things you would otherwise forget, such as tone limits or refusal conditions.

The README lists its audience directly: solo founders using LLMs as a full-stack team, engineers who want production-grade prompts, PMs and operators writing specs and reviews, marketers and SEOs, and researchers and students. That is a wide net, and the categories reflect it. Engineering is the largest visible category with 25 prompts, but the README also promises ten categories in total. The honest reading is that this is a general-purpose library with an engineering bias, not a specialist tool for one role.

## How the prompt library is organised on disk

The repository has four top-level entries: CLAUDE.md, LICENSE, README.md, and two directories, _analysis/ and prompts/. Prompts live under prompts/<category>/<slug>.md. The README's engineering table maps a number, a title, a use case and a file path, so a row like Senior Code Reviewer points at prompts/engineering/senior-code-reviewer.md.

That layout matters more than it first appears. Because each prompt is a separate Markdown file with a stable slug, you can reference it from other tooling by path. The presence of CLAUDE.md at the root is a convention used by Claude Code, which reads project-level instruction files; the README does not explain its contents, so treat it as configuration for that tooling rather than documentation. The _analysis/ directory is likewise undocumented in the README, so its purpose is not stated.

The engineering category mixes genuinely different kinds of prompt. Some are reviewers and generators: Senior Code Reviewer, QA Test Engineer and Bug Reporter, Senior Frontend Engineer for React plus Vite scaffolding. Others are simulators: Python Interpreter Simulator, JavaScript Console Simulator, SQL Terminal Simulator, Terminal Simulator for Shell Learning, DAX Terminal Simulator, and a Chemistry Reaction Vessel Simulator. A simulator prompt asks the model to produce plausible output rather than execute anything, which is a very different reliability profile from a code review prompt. The README does not draw that distinction, and it should.

## Getting the prompt files onto your machine and running a first prompt

There is no package to install. The README gives no install command, no CLI and no server. The project is a Git repository of Markdown files, so the practical setup is cloning it and reading the file you need. The README does not print a clone command, so use your Git client's usual clone form against the repository URL shown on its page.

The listing should show the Markdown files named in the README table, such as senior-code-reviewer.md and qa-test-engineer-bug-reporter.md. From there, open the file and read its sections before pasting anything into a model. You should see the six-part structure the README describes. The workflow the README implies is: copy the prompt body, fill in the Inputs section with your own code or context, and send it. If you use Claude Code, the root CLAUDE.md is the file that tool reads, so a fork of this repository can carry your own project instructions alongside the prompt library. Nothing in the README suggests the prompts are versioned, parameterised or fetched at runtime.

## Where the format breaks down

A six-part brief is not free. It is longer than a one-line instruction, so it consumes context window on every call. For a quick question the overhead is real, and the README's own framing, that these are for 2026-class models and not for 2023 ChatGPT, implicitly concedes that the format assumes a large context budget. On a small local model or a tight token limit, a 222-prompt library of long briefs is the wrong tool.

The simulator prompts are the second weak point. A Python Interpreter Simulator that returns "only the output" is a plausible-output generator, not an interpreter. The README describes it as executing snippets as if it were CPython, which is exactly the failure mode: it will confidently produce output for code that would raise an exception. The same applies to the SQL and shell simulators. They are useful for practice and for drafting, and misleading if you treat the output as verified.

Finally, the README is the only documentation, and it is incomplete. It does not document how prompts are versioned, how to contribute one, how the _analysis/ directory is used, or what CLAUDE.md contains. There are no releases listed. If you need a change history per prompt, you will not find one here.

## GPT-Prompt-Hub compared with a prompt management tool

The real alternative is not another prompt list. It is a prompt management system such as a hosted prompt registry or a framework that stores prompts as templates with variables, versions and an API. The difference in approach is structural. GPT-Prompt-Hub keeps prompts as plain Markdown in Git, which means your diff tool, your code review and your branching model all work on them with no extra software. A prompt registry keeps prompts in a database or service, which gives you variables, A/B versions, per-environment promotion and runtime fetching, at the cost of a dependency and a deployment.

If your prompts change weekly and are called from production code, the registry approach fits better. If your prompts are things you paste into a chat window while working, plain files win, because there is nothing to run. The trade-off is explicit: this project optimises for readability and forking, and gives up everything that requires a runtime.

## Maintenance, licensing and what to check before forking

The repository is not archived, and the last push was on 2026-04-19. That is roughly five months before the date used here, so it is not a project that changes daily, and nothing available shows a release history to measure cadence against.

The licence is MIT, stated in the repository metadata, and a LICENSE file sits at the root. MIT is permissive: it allows reuse, modification and redistribution provided the copyright notice and permission notice are preserved. That is a summary of the licence, not legal advice, and it matters here because the value of the repository is the text of the prompts. If you copy prompt files into a commercial product, keep the LICENSE file and the attribution the README gives to its author, Shen Huang. The README does not state a separate licence for individual prompt files, so check the LICENSE text at the root before redistributing them.

Upgrade cost is low but not zero. Because there is no package manager, updating means pulling from Git and resolving conflicts in files you have edited. If you fork and customise heavily, plan to treat upstream as a source of new prompts rather than a stream of patches.

## Conclusion

Adopt GPT-Prompt-Hub if you already keep prompts in files and want a structured starting set you can fork and edit, especially for engineering tasks such as code review, test generation and terminal simulation. Skip it if you need a hosted prompt manager with versioning, variables and an API, because this repository is Markdown files and a README, with no package, no CLI and no server. Before relying on any single prompt, open the corresponding file under prompts/, read the actual Role, Objective, Inputs, Output, Constraints and Example sections, and check the LICENSE text at the repository root, since the README itself does not restate the licence terms for individual prompt files.

## FAQ

### What is a prompt for GPT?

In GPT-Prompt-Hub the answer is concrete: the README states that each prompt is a structured brief with six parts, Role, Objective, Inputs, Output, Constraints and Example, rather than a single instruction line.

### What does prompt mean in programming?

The README treats a prompt as a reusable text brief you paste into a model, stored as a Markdown file under prompts/ and referenced by path. It is not code that runs.

### What is a GPT and how does it work?

The README does not explain how GPT models work internally. It only states that the prompts are designed for 2026-class models including Claude 4.x, GPT-5 and Gemini 3.

## Sources

- [Issues](https://github.com/LichAmnesia/GPT-Prompt-Hub/issues)
- [License: MIT](https://github.com/LichAmnesia/GPT-Prompt-Hub/blob/main/LICENSE)
- [LichAmnesia/GPT-Prompt-Hub on GitHub](https://github.com/LichAmnesia/GPT-Prompt-Hub)
- [README](https://github.com/LichAmnesia/GPT-Prompt-Hub/blob/main/README.md)

---

Hysen Labs editorial analysis, written from the project's own repository and release notes. Cite the canonical page: https://hysenlabs.com/projects/lichamnesia-gpt-prompt-hub
