# Alokai (vuestorefront/vue-storefront): a frontend layer for headless commerce backends

> Alokai is the renamed Vue Storefront repository: a frontend-as-a-service toolkit that pairs a Nuxt or Next application with an Express middleware that talks to a commerce backend's API. The README documents the stack and the integrations, not the install commands.

**vuestorefront/vue-storefront** — Alokai is a Frontend as a Service solution that simplifies composable commerce. It connects all the technologies needed to build and deploy fast & scalable ecommerce frontends. It guides merchants to deliver exceptional customer experiences quickly and easily.

- Repository: https://github.com/vuestorefront/vue-storefront
- Website: https://www.alokai.com
- Stars: 10,951 · Forks: 2,064
- Language: Unknown
- License: not declared
- Published: 2026-09-21 · Updated: 2026-09-21 · Language: en
- Canonical page: https://hysenlabs.com/projects/vuestorefront-vue-storefront

## The problem Alokai solves for headless commerce teams

A headless storefront splits one job into two: rendering product, cart and checkout pages, and talking to whatever system holds the catalog and orders. The second half is where projects stall. Every commerce backend exposes a different API shape, and the frontend ends up full of backend-specific request code that is hard to replace later. Alokai's stated position is that it is "compatible with any backend that has an API", with integrations already written for several platforms. The audience is therefore a team with an existing commerce backend and a frontend to build, not a team looking for a backend. The repository README describes the deliverable as "fully-working eCommerce storefront integrated with your favourite stack", which is a stronger claim than a component library: the default output is a running application, not a set of primitives. The README also lists the supported frontend frameworks as Nuxt.js and Next.js, so a team committed to neither Vue nor React is outside the intended path.

## How the middleware sits between the storefront and the commerce API

The architecture the README shows has three parts. At the top is the application, built with Nuxt.js or Next.js. In the middle is "Alokai Middleware - the Express.js server used to connect the frontend application with the eCommerce platform and other Integrations". At the bottom is the commerce backend, reached over its API. That middle layer is the design decision worth understanding. The browser never calls the commerce platform directly; it calls an Express server you deploy, and that server holds the credentials and normalises the responses. The benefit is that swapping a backend means changing the middleware's integration, not rewriting components. The cost is a second deployable. A storefront that would otherwise be a static or server-rendered frontend now has a Node process that must be running, scaled and monitored, and it becomes part of the critical path for every product listing and cart operation. The README lists GraphQL among the technologies in the stack, and the release history shows the middleware published as its own versioned package, @vue-storefront/middleware, currently at 5.4.0. The package boundaries matter: the middleware, the request sender and the changesets tooling are released separately, so upgrading one does not force the others.

## Installing Alokai and getting a first storefront running

The README does not contain install commands. It points to the documentation at docs.alokai.com and to a list of available integrations, and the repository's top level contains only README.md, so there is no scaffold script or lockfile in this repository to copy from. What the README does commit to is the shape of what you get: a Nuxt.js or Next.js application, an Alokai Theme built on the Storefront UI component library, and the Express middleware. Until you open the documentation, the honest summary is that the setup path lives outside this repository. The one thing you can act on from the repository alone is the middleware package, which is published under the @vue-storefront scope. A dependency entry looks like this:

```json
{
  "dependencies": {
    "@vue-storefront/middleware": "5.4.0"
  }
}
```

That pins the middleware at the version shown in the release notes rather than floating to whatever is newest. The related request-sender package, @vue-storefront/sdk-axios-request-sender, is versioned independently at 3.0.0, so check which version the middleware you install expects before adding it by hand. For the application itself, follow the integration page for your backend on the documentation site; the README lists the integrations under a single URL and does not reproduce them here.

## Where the documented surface runs out

The README is a landing page, and it behaves like one. It names the stack, shows an architecture diagram, and links outward. It does not document rollback, migration between middleware major versions, environment variables, ports, or the contract an integration must implement. It also does not state the licence in text: the licence appears only as a badge image whose value is fetched at render time, so anyone reading the README as plain text cannot determine the terms. That is a real gap for a repository whose code you would be embedding in a commercial storefront. The README's own description of the project as "Frontend as a Service" is accurate about the model and also a warning: parts of the workflow are oriented around the vendor's tooling and documentation rather than around the repository contents. If your evaluation process requires that everything needed to run the software be readable from the repository, this project will fail that test, not because the software is incomplete but because the repository is deliberately a pointer.

## Alokai compared with picking a platform-specific storefront

The alternative most teams weigh is a storefront published by their commerce vendor, or a single-framework starter tied to one backend. The difference is where the abstraction lives. A vendor storefront typically calls that vendor's API directly from the application, with the vendor's own SDK and conventions; there is no separate Express layer to deploy, and no integration boundary to maintain. Alokai inverts that: the abstraction is the middleware, and the application is meant to be backend-agnostic. The trade is explicit. You gain the option to change backends or run several behind one frontend, and you pay for it with an extra service, an extra version number to track, and a dependency on integration code you did not write. The README's integration list covers several commerce platforms, and the repository topics name commercetools, Magento, Shopify and Shopware among them, so the multi-backend claim is backed by more than a diagram. If you will never change backends and your vendor ships a competent storefront, the middleware is a layer you are maintaining for an option you will not exercise.

## Maintenance, releases and what the licence badge leaves open

The repository is not archived, and the last push was on 2026-06-09. The most recent releases shown are all from April 2025 or earlier, with @vue-storefront/middleware@5.4.0 dated 2025-04-23, @vue-storefront/sdk-axios-request-sender@3.0.0 dated 2025-04-02, and @vue-storefront/changesets@3.0.0 dated 2025-04-02. The gap between the last release and the last push is worth noting when you plan upgrades: package releases are not continuous, so pinning versions in your lockfile is more useful here than tracking a latest tag. The use of Changesets for versioning suggests the packages follow semantic versioning, which means a major bump on the middleware is the signal to read release notes before upgrading. On licensing, the README renders a badge from the repository's licence field but never spells the licence out in prose, and the repository metadata available here does not resolve it either. Treat that as an open item: read the LICENSE file in the repository before you depend on the code commercially, and check whether the integrations you plan to use are in the same repository or separate ones with their own terms. Nothing here is legal advice; the point is only that the README does not answer the question.

## Conclusion

Alokai fits teams that already have a commerce backend with an API and want a Nuxt or Next storefront plus a Node middleware layer between them, and who accept that the README points at docs.alokai.com for setup rather than containing it. It is a poor fit if you want a single self-contained application with no separate server to deploy, or if you need the README alone to be a complete onboarding document. Before adopting, verify three things: that your backend appears in the published integrations list, what the middleware package version 5.4.0 requires of your Node runtime, and which licence badge the repository currently renders, since the README does not state the licence in text.

## FAQ

### What is Vue Storefront, and is it the same thing as Alokai?

The vuestorefront/vue-storefront repository now presents itself as Alokai, described as an ecosystem of developer tools for building eCommerce storefronts. The README keeps the Vue Storefront organisation and links while using the Alokai name and documentation site.

### What does VSF mean in the context of Vue Storefront?

The README does not use the abbreviation VSF; it refers to the project as Alokai and to the repository as vuestorefront/vue-storefront. The available material does not define the acronym.

### What are the alternatives to Alokai for a headless storefront?

The practical alternative is a storefront shipped by your commerce vendor, which calls that vendor's API directly from the application instead of routing through a separate Express middleware. The difference is whether you deploy an extra service to keep the frontend backend-agnostic.

## Sources

- [Issues](https://github.com/vuestorefront/vue-storefront/issues)
- [Project website](https://www.alokai.com)
- [README](https://github.com/vuestorefront/vue-storefront/blob/main/README.md)
- [Releases](https://github.com/vuestorefront/vue-storefront/releases)
- [vuestorefront/vue-storefront on GitHub](https://github.com/vuestorefront/vue-storefront)

---

Hysen Labs editorial analysis, written from the project's own repository and release notes. Cite the canonical page: https://hysenlabs.com/projects/vuestorefront-vue-storefront
