LibreDesk: a self-hosted support desk that ships as one Go binary
Open-source, self-hosted customer support desk in a single binary. A lightweight alternative to Intercom, Zendesk, Chatwoot.
At a glance
- What is it?
- LibreDesk bundles live chat, email, a help center and an AI assistant into a single Go binary backed by Postgres and Redis. It is aimed at teams that want Zendesk-style ticketing without a hosted vendor, and the AGPL-3.0 licence is the main thing to weigh before adopting it.
- Who is it for?
- LibreDesk fits teams that already run Postgres and Redis and want ticketing, a chat widget and a knowledge base under their own control, especially where data residency or per-seat pricing rules out a hosted desk. It is the wrong choice if you need a vendor to page at 3am, if you cannot accept the AGPL-3.0 network copyleft, or if you need telephony and social channels on day one, since the README only claims live chat and email.
- Can I use it commercially?
- Yes, with strict conditions. AGPL-3.0 is a network copyleft licence: if people use a modified version over a network, for example as a hosted service, you must offer them its source code under the same licence.
- Is it still maintained?
- Yes. The repository last received commits 1 day ago.
- What is it written in?
- Mainly Go, according to GitHub's language statistics.
Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on September 15, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.
DEEP OPEN-SOURCE ANALYSIS
What LibreDesk replaces, and for whom
The README positions LibreDesk as an omnichannel customer support desk and a lightweight alternative to Intercom, Zendesk and Chatwoot. The concrete claim is that live chat and email land in the same inbox, so an agent does not switch tools when a conversation moves from the website widget to a follow-up email. That matters for small support teams where one person covers both channels, and for organisations that cannot send customer conversation data to a third-party SaaS. The repository is written in Go with a Vue.js 3 and Shadcn UI frontend, and the homepage is libredesk.io. If your team already runs Postgres and Redis, the operational surface is familiar. If nobody on the team administers databases, the self-hosted model is a cost, not a feature.
One binary, two backing services
The architecture visible in the material is a single Go binary that serves the application and talks to Postgres and Redis. The Railway deployment path states that it provisions the app, Postgres and Redis, which confirms both are required rather than optional. The frontend is Vue.js 3 with Shadcn UI, so the binary is serving a compiled SPA alongside the HTTP/JSON APIs and webhooks the README lists. Feature work happens server-side: automations run on conversation events, auto assignment distributes incoming conversations by agent capacity or defined criteria, and SLA rules track response-time targets and notify when a conversation is at risk of breaching them. The AI assistant is described as grounded in your knowledge base and hands off to a human when it cannot help, which implies retrieval over help center content rather than a general-purpose model with no context. The README does not specify which model provider backs the assistant or the copilot, so treat that as something to confirm before you plan around it.
Installing from the compose file
The README gives a Docker path that downloads two files into the current directory:
curl -LO https://github.com/abhinavxd/libredesk/raw/main/docker-compose.yml curl -LO https://github.com/abhinavxd/libredesk/raw/main/config.sample.toml
You copy config.sample.toml to config.toml and edit it, then run docker compose up -d. The image is published as libredesk/libredesk:latest on Docker Hub. Before you can log in, the system user password has to be set:
docker exec -it libredesk_app ./libredesk --set-system-user-password
The app then listens on http://localhost:9000, and the README says to log in as user System with the password you just set. There is also a binary path: download the latest release, edit config.toml, run ./libredesk --install to set up the Postgres database, run ./libredesk --set-system-user-password, then start ./libredesk. Two details are worth flagging. The compose file and config sample are fetched from the main branch rather than a tagged release, so the instructions and the image tag can drift apart. And the README's binary section says to log in with email System while the Docker section says username System; one of the two is a documentation slip.
The AI assistant is the least specified part
The feature list gives the AI assistant and the agent copilot prominent placement: answering live chat automatically, drafting replies, summarising conversations and looking up knowledge base answers without leaving the inbox. What the README does not state is where inference runs, which provider is called, how the knowledge base is indexed, or what happens to conversation content sent to that provider. For a product whose main selling point is self-hosting, that gap is significant. A team evaluating LibreDesk for data-residency reasons needs to confirm whether the assistant can be pointed at a local or self-hosted model endpoint, or whether it requires an external API key. Until that is documented, treat the AI features as the part of the product with the most unknowns, and check the live demo at demo.libredesk.io to see how handoff to a human actually behaves.
Where self-hosting becomes your problem
LibreDesk moves the operational burden to you. Postgres and Redis both need backups, upgrades and monitoring, and the application binary has its own upgrade path. The releases listed are v2.8.0, v2.7.1 and v2.7.0, all within roughly a month of each other, which suggests an active but fast-moving release cadence. Fast minor releases are good for fixes and awkward for teams that need to test before deploying. There is no mention of a migration tool in the README, so how schema changes are applied between versions is something to verify in the documentation before you upgrade a production instance. Two other constraints stand out. The README claims live chat and email; the topics list mentions omnichannel, but telephony, social messaging and chat apps are not named as supported channels, so if your support runs on WhatsApp or phone, this is not the tool. And SSO covers Google, Microsoft and any OIDC provider, which is broad, but anything outside OIDC is not addressed.
Chatwoot, and the difference in shape
Chatwoot is the closest comparison the README itself invites, and the two projects differ in deployment shape rather than feature checklist. Chatwoot is a Rails application with a separate frontend, a Sidekiq background worker and its own set of backing services, which means more moving parts to run and more surface to upgrade. LibreDesk compresses the application into a single Go binary with Postgres and Redis alongside it. That is a real difference for a two-person operations team: fewer processes to supervise, one binary to replace on upgrade. The trade-off runs the other way too. A larger, older project tends to have more documented integrations and a longer trail of upgrade notes, and Chatwoot's channel coverage is broader than the live chat and email that LibreDesk's README claims. If your requirement list includes channels beyond those two, the comparison ends quickly.
AGPL-3.0 and the cost of running it as a service
LibreDesk is licensed AGPL-3.0. The practical consequence, stated plainly and without legal advice, is that if you modify the software and let users interact with it over a network, the licence's network clause can require you to offer those users the corresponding source. Running an unmodified copy for your own internal support team is a different situation from building a modified LibreDesk into a product you sell. The README does not discuss commercial licensing or an exception, so organisations in that second category should have counsel review the terms before committing. On maintenance cost, the material supports a few observations: releases arrive frequently, the recommended install pulls compose and config files from the main branch rather than a tag, and the binary ships with --install and --set-system-user-password flags but nothing in the README describing a rollback or migration command. Budget time for reading the release notes before each upgrade rather than assuming the compose file you downloaded will still match the next image.
Editorial conclusion
LibreDesk fits teams that already run Postgres and Redis and want ticketing, a chat widget and a knowledge base under their own control, especially where data residency or per-seat pricing rules out a hosted desk. It is the wrong choice if you need a vendor to page at 3am, if you cannot accept the AGPL-3.0 network copyleft, or if you need telephony and social channels on day one, since the README only claims live chat and email. Before committing, verify three things: that the docker-compose.yml and config.sample.toml pin a version you can reproduce, that auto assignment, SLA and CSAT behave the way your team expects on the live demo, and that your legal team is comfortable with AGPL-3.0 obligations for a network-facing service.
Community notes