Model or dataset
FireRedTeam/FireRed-Image-Edit avatar
FireRedTeam/FireRed-Image-Edit

FireRed-Image-Edit: what the repository actually ships, and what it assumes you have

FireRed-Image-Edit is a powerful image editing foundation model achieving open-source state-of-the-art performance with precise instruction following, high-fidelity generation, superior identity consistency, and seamless multi-element fusion.

1,361 stars79 forksPythonApache-2.0

At a glance

What is it?
The project packages an instruction-driven image editing model, a LoRA training tree, a REDEdit-Bench evaluation set and a 30GB VRAM inference path. The README states the performance claims; the engineering claims are the part worth checking before you commit.
Who is it for?
Adopt it if you need an instruction-following editor you can fine-tune on your own style and you already have a 30GB-class GPU, since the LoRA training tree and the optimized inference path are the two things the repository actually hands you. Do not adopt it if you need a hosted service or a released pip package: there are no releases in the material supplied, only a repository and Hugging Face and ModelScope weights.
Can I use it commercially?
Yes. Apache-2.0 is a permissive licence: you can use, modify and sell software built on it, as long as you keep its copyright and licence notices.
Is it still maintained?
Yes. The repository last received commits 165 days ago.
What is it written in?
Mainly Python, according to GitHub's language statistics.

Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on September 15, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.

DEEP OPEN-SOURCE ANALYSIS

The problem it targets: editing that keeps the subject recognizable

Instruction-driven image editing has a specific failure that shows up the moment you use it for anything commercial: the edit lands, but the person in the frame stops looking like the person. FireRed-Image-Edit is aimed at that failure. The README describes FireRed-Image-Edit-1.0 as a general-purpose editing model for high-fidelity and consistent editing, and lists identity consistency as a headline capability, with the claim that subjects remain recognizable across complex edits. The 1.1 checkpoint, released 2026.03.03, is described as building on the 1.0 foundation model and optimizing portrait consistency, multi-element fusion, stylized text reference and portrait makeup effects.

The audience is narrower than the description suggests. This is not a consumer photo app. The repository ships a training tree, a benchmark, quantized and distilled weights, and a ComfyUI integration path. That combination points at teams building an editing product or an internal pipeline who need to fine-tune on their own subject matter and control the serving cost. If you want to type a prompt into a browser and get a picture, the Hugging Face Space and the ModelScope studio are the relevant links, not the repository.

Two checkpoints, one repository, and why the 1.0/1.1 split matters

The README presents 1.1 as an increment on 1.0 rather than a replacement, and names the four areas it improves: portrait consistency, multi-element fusion, stylized text reference, and portrait makeup effects. That is a useful disclosure because it tells you which checkpoint to reach for. If your workload is product photography with no faces, the 1.1 improvements are largely irrelevant to you and 1.0 is the documented general-purpose model.

What the material does not give you is a comparison table between the two on any task. There are no released numbers in the README for either checkpoint, only the qualitative claim of leading open-source results. Treat the version choice as a decision you have to make yourself on your own inputs. The repository does not make it for you, and the technical report at arxiv.org/abs/2602.13344 is where the quantitative argument presumably lives.

The mechanism: editing capability injected into a T2I backbone

The architecture claim is stated in one line under the key features: editing capabilities are injected through a full Pretrain, SFT, RL pipeline, and the result is described as backbone-agnostic and transferable to any T2I foundation model. That is the design thesis. Rather than starting from an editing-specific architecture, the project takes a text-to-image backbone and teaches it to edit through staged training.

The README attributes the multi-element fusion capability to an Agent-powered workflow that performs automatic cropping and stitching. The stated purpose is compositional: combining more than ten elements without writing a long prompt. The claim is that the agent handles the assembly so the user does not have to describe the spatial arrangement in text. Whether that holds for your inputs is an empirical question, and the repository does not publish the agent's failure cases.

On the training side, the mechanism is more concrete and more interesting. The README describes offline feature pre-extraction that decouples VLM inference from the training workflow, which it says eliminates generation overhead and speeds convergence. This is a real architectural decision with a real cost: pre-extracted features are a snapshot, so if you change the VLM or the preprocessing, the cache is stale and must be rebuilt. The repository does not document the invalidation rules.

Getting it running: the one command the README commits to

The README gives exactly one invocation for the optimized path: python inference.py --optimized True. The news entry dated 2026.03.01 describes that script as lightweight and as bundling a distilled LoRA, quantization, db_cache and static compilation, and states the result as 30GB VRAM and roughly 4.5 seconds per sample. Those figures are the project's own claims and are conditional on identical task, size and input count, a qualifier the README repeats in the engineering section.

The distilled LoRA referenced is FireRed-Image-Edit-1.0-Lightning-8steps-v1.0.safetensors, hosted in the FireRedTeam/FireRed-Image-Edit-1.0-ComfyUI repository on Hugging Face. Note the version: the optimization news is about the 1.0 line. If you intend to serve 1.1 with the same speed profile, the material does not state that the same distilled LoRA applies, and you should confirm that before planning capacity.

Deployment options named in the README are native ComfyUI node support and GGUF lightweight format compatibility. Both are listed as capabilities, not documented with setup steps in the supplied text. Training lives under the train/ directory, and the README mentions HSDP/FSDP and disaggregated setup. ModelScope added LoRA training support on 2026.03.25 for those who would rather not run the training tree locally.

Where the claims stop and the verification starts

The gap between the feature list and the documentation is the main thing to price in. Several claims are qualitative and unquantified in the material: state-of-the-art identity consistency, high-fidelity typography comparable to closed-source solutions, superior detail recovery in photo restoration. None of these come with a number, a test set definition, or a reproduction command in the README.

The 4.5s and 30GB figures are the exception, and even they carry a stated precondition. The README says optimized samplers maximize GPU efficiency for identical tasks, sizes and input counts. Read that as a warning about batching and variable resolution: mixed workloads are not what the number describes. If your service accepts arbitrary image sizes, the throughput you measure will not match the headline.

The wrong-tool case is straightforward. If you need a managed API with an SLA, this repository is not it. If you cannot run a 30GB-VRAM-class GPU and you are not willing to depend on the Hugging Face Space or the ModelScope studio, the optimized path is closed to you. And if your editing task is a fixed, narrow transformation such as background removal or upscaling, a purpose-built model will be cheaper to run and easier to evaluate than a general instruction-following editor.

REDEdit-Bench and the alternative that does not ship its own evaluation

The project released REDEdit-Bench on 2026.03.09, described as covering more diverse scenarios and editing instructions that better align with human language, providing a more comprehensive and realistic evaluation. That is the substantive difference from the closest alternative in this space, which is fine-tuning a general diffusion model such as Stable Diffusion with a ControlNet or an inpainting conditioning stack. The ControlNet route gives you precise spatial control through masks, depth or pose, and it has a large body of third-party tooling. It does not give you instruction following, and it does not give you a project-maintained benchmark to measure against.

FireRed-Image-Edit inverts those trade-offs. You get instruction following and a published evaluation set, and you give up the deterministic spatial control a mask-based pipeline provides. For virtual try-on or element composition, the README's answer is the agent workflow rather than a mask. That is a different contract with the user: you describe the outcome instead of drawing the region. When the agent's cropping or stitching decision is wrong, you have less to grab onto than you would with an explicit mask, and the README does not describe a correction mechanism.

The benchmark is also the reason to take the evaluation claims seriously. A project that publishes its own bench is telling you how it wants to be measured. Whether REDEdit-Bench correlates with your production inputs is a separate question you have to answer on your own data.

Licensing, maintenance, and what an upgrade costs you

The repository is Apache-2.0, and the badge links to the canonical Apache licence text. That covers the code. The model weights are distributed separately on Hugging Face and ModelScope, and the material does not state the licence terms attached to the checkpoints themselves, so verify those on the model card before you ship anything derived from them. This is a factual gap, not a legal opinion.

Maintenance cost is dominated by the weight-fetching pattern rather than the code. There are no releases in the supplied material, so there is no versioned artifact to pin against; you track the main branch and pull checkpoints from the Hugging Face and ModelScope repositories by name. The 1.0 to 1.1 transition is the template for what an upgrade looks like: a new checkpoint with named capability changes and no published migration guide. Budget for re-evaluating your own test set on every checkpoint you adopt.

The second cost is the training path. The README advertises full training code for custom styles and an offline feature pre-extraction step that decouples VLM inference from training. That decoupling is a maintenance liability as much as a speed win: the feature cache is tied to a specific VLM and preprocessing pipeline, and nothing in the README describes how it is versioned or invalidated. If you build on train/, plan to own that cache lifecycle yourself.

Editorial conclusion

Adopt it if you need an instruction-following editor you can fine-tune on your own style and you already have a 30GB-class GPU, since the LoRA training tree and the optimized inference path are the two things the repository actually hands you. Do not adopt it if you need a hosted service or a released pip package: there are no releases in the material supplied, only a repository and Hugging Face and ModelScope weights. Before committing, verify three things against the current checkpoint you intend to serve: which version you are pulling (1.0 and 1.1 differ in the areas the README names), that inference.py --optimized True actually reaches the stated 30GB VRAM and 4.5s per sample on your hardware, and that the LoRA training path in train/ supports your GPU topology, since the README mentions HSDP/FSDP and disaggregated setup without stating the minimum configuration.

Official sources

  1. FireRedTeam/FireRed-Image-Edit on GitHub
  2. Issues
  3. License: Apache-2.0
  4. README
Community notes

Community notes