flopperam/unreal-engine-mcp: a local MCP server for Unreal Editor, and the hosted product it points to
This MCP is now owned by Aura! Please try out the most intelligent AI agent for Unreal Engine at https://www.tryaura.dev/?utm_source=youtube&utm_medium=video&utm_campaign=flop
At a glance
- What is it?
- The repository ships a Python MCP server plus an UnrealMCP plugin for driving Unreal Engine 5.5+ from an MCP client. Its README now leads with an acquisition notice and steers users toward a separate hosted server that shares no code with the local one.
- Who is it for?
- Adopt the local server if you want a self-hosted path from an MCP client into a running Unreal Editor and you accept a foundational Blueprint toolset. Do not adopt it if you need full Blueprint lifecycle authoring, Niagara, Sequencer or PCG; the README places those behind the hosted Flop MCP and the FlopAI plugin, which is a different codebase with an API key and a remote endpoint.
- Can I use it commercially?
- Not without permission. GitHub finds no licence file in the repository, and without a licence all rights are reserved by default: you may read the code but not reuse it. Check the README, or ask the authors, before using it.
- Is it still maintained?
- Yes. The repository last received commits 81 days ago.
- What is it written in?
- Mainly C++, according to GitHub's language statistics.
Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on September 15, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.
DEEP OPEN-SOURCE ANALYSIS
What the local server actually covers, and who it is for
The problem is the gap between a chat client and a live editor session. An MCP client can read files and run shell commands, but it cannot see which actors are in the current level, what a Blueprint graph contains, or where an asset is referenced. This repository closes that gap for Unreal Engine 5.5 and later by exposing editor operations as MCP tools. The intended user is an engineer or technical artist already working inside an MCP client such as Cursor, Claude Code, Windsurf, VS Code Copilot or Cline, who wants scene manipulation, actor management, world building and foundational Blueprint operations driven from that client rather than from the editor UI. The README is explicit about the split: the hosted Flop MCP is described as a completely different, much more advanced server that shares no code with the local Python/ server, and the table lists 50+ tools across nine domains for the hosted side against a basic toolset locally. So the local repository is the self-hosted, smaller option, and the README itself recommends the hosted one.
How the local server and the UnrealMCP plugin fit together
Two components are involved, and the README keeps them in separate folders. The MCP server lives under Python/ and is what your IDE connects to. The editor side is the UnrealMCP plugin, bundled in the repository under UnrealMCP/ and installed into the engine or project. That layout implies the data flow: the MCP client calls a tool on the local Python server, and the server reaches the Unreal Editor through the plugin rather than through a remote service. The README does not document the wire protocol between the Python process and the plugin, the port it listens on, or how a session is paired, so treat that boundary as undocumented until you read the source. What the README does document is the local Blueprint surface: add_node, connect_nodes, create_variable and create_function, with 23+ node types. Compare that to the hosted side, where Blueprint authoring is broken into batched narrow tools (bp_create, bp_variable, bp_component, bp_nodes, bp_wire, bp_commit) with a dry-run step, contract verification and PIE runtime testing. The local server gives you graph primitives; the hosted server gives you a staged pipeline with verification around it.
Getting the local server running: clone, Python 3.12, plugin, client config
The README's setup line for the open-source path is short: clone the repo, use Python 3.12+, run the server locally. It does not print the exact launch command, so the entry point has to be read out of the Python/ folder. The plugin half is clearer: UnrealMCP is bundled in this repository under UnrealMCP/. Client configuration follows the hosted examples in structure but not in transport, since a local server is not reached over HTTPS with a bearer token. The README shows the hosted shape for Cursor in .cursor/mcp.json (project) or ~/.cursor/mcp.json (global), with a url field and an Authorization header, and the same pattern for VS Code in .vscode/mcp.json using a type field and servers as the top-level key. For a local process you would register a command-based server instead. Note the client list is identical on both sides: Cursor, Claude Code, Windsurf, VS Code Copilot, Cline and any other MCP client. If you take the hosted route, the README gives the full commands, including a Claude Code one-liner: claude mcp add -H "Authorization: Bearer YOUR_API_KEY" --transport http flopperam-unreal https://agent.flopperam.com/mcp. That endpoint, agent.flopperam.com/mcp, is the hosted server, not the local one.
The acquisition notice sits above the technical documentation
The first element in the README is an acquisition banner: Flopperam has been acquired by Aura, and the repository description repeats the same message with a link to tryaura.dev. The banner says to head to tryaura.dev for the latest updates to the MCP and what is being built next. That is a redirect, not a deprecation notice. The repository is not archived, the default branch is still main, and the last push timestamp is recent. But the README's own table states that the hosted Flop MCP is actively developed with new tools shipping regularly, which implies the local Python/ server is not where new work lands. For an adopter this is the central maintenance question, and the README does not answer it: it never says the local server is frozen, and it never says it is still being extended. Anyone planning to build on the Python/ folder should read the commit history on that path rather than the banner, because the banner only tells you where the company's attention went.
Where the local toolset stops
The limitation is scope, and the README draws it itself. The local column reads: basic toolset, scene manipulation, actor management, world building, and foundational Blueprint operations. Foundational Blueprint support is spelled out as add_node, connect_nodes, create_variable and create_function with 23+ node types. Everything else in the hosted tool table has no local counterpart listed: Niagara and Chaos, animation sequences and IK retargeting, UMG widgets, Behavior Trees and Gameplay Ability System, landscape and foliage editing, Sequencer and MetaSound, PCG graphs, and the Data Asset factory covering enums, structs, DataTables and Enhanced Input bundles. If your task is authoring a Niagara system or wiring a Behavior Tree, the local server is the wrong tool and the README says so by omission. A second, quieter limitation is documentation depth: the hosted side is credited with rich per-tool LLM guidance, cross-tool relationship mapping and error recovery patterns, while the local side gets basic tool descriptions. Tool descriptions are what an LLM reads before choosing a call, so thinner descriptions mean more failed or malformed calls in practice. That is a quality difference you will feel in prompts, not a feature you can add later.
The real alternative is the hosted Flop MCP, and it is a different product
The obvious comparison is the hosted Flop MCP, and the difference is architectural, not just a feature count. The hosted server runs at agent.flopperam.com/mcp, needs an API key from flopperam.com/account, and requires the FlopAI plugin installed separately via flopperam.com/unreal-agent. Your editor session is therefore reachable through a remote endpoint, and the plugin is not the UnrealMCP plugin bundled here. The local server runs on your machine with the bundled plugin and no account. The trade is capability against control: the hosted side carries 50+ tools across nine domains including the Blueprint lifecycle tools and the domain editors listed above, while the local side carries the foundational set. There is also a second alternative worth naming for anyone who wants neither: Epic's own editor scripting and Python API, which is what the Python/ server is presumably built on top of. Going direct means writing the editor calls yourself and handling the MCP layer, but it removes both the API key dependency and the acquisition-driven redirect from your stack. The README does not compare against Epic's tooling at all, so that judgement is yours to make from the source.
Licence, upgrade cost, and what to check before committing
The licence is the first thing to resolve, because the repository metadata supplied here does not state one. Without a licence file you have no granted rights to redistribute or modify, and the README does not discuss licensing at all. Treat that as an open question rather than an assumption, and read the repository root before you vendor anything. On upgrade cost, the local path is bounded by two version constraints: Python 3.12+ on the server side and Unreal Engine 5.5+ on the plugin side. Engine upgrades are the expensive half, since the UnrealMCP plugin is compiled C++ that ships in this repository and would need to keep pace with engine API changes. The README gives no compatibility matrix beyond the version badge, no release notes are listed, and no releases were retrieved, so there is no published upgrade cadence to plan against. The hosted path moves that cost to the vendor and to a subscription or account relationship, which is a different kind of commitment. If you only need scene queries and basic graph edits on a pinned engine version, the local server is the smaller dependency. If the tool list in the README's hosted table is what you actually need, the local repository will not substitute for it.
Editorial conclusion
Adopt the local server if you want a self-hosted path from an MCP client into a running Unreal Editor and you accept a foundational Blueprint toolset. Do not adopt it if you need full Blueprint lifecycle authoring, Niagara, Sequencer or PCG; the README places those behind the hosted Flop MCP and the FlopAI plugin, which is a different codebase with an API key and a remote endpoint. Verify three things first: the licence, which the repository metadata does not state; whether the Python 3.12 server in the Python/ folder still receives commits after the acquisition notice; and whether the bundled UnrealMCP plugin compiles against your exact 5.5+ engine build, since the README gives no compatibility matrix beyond the version badge.
Community notes