gmgn-skills: GMGN's OpenAPI Wrapper for Agent-Driven Memecoin Trading
GMGN OpenAPI skills for AI Agent — query tokens, wallets, and market data, and execute on-chain trades across Solana, BSC, and Base.
At a glance
- What is it?
- gmgn-skills packages GMGN's on-chain analytics and order execution into nine agent skills and a Python CLI covering Solana, BSC, Base and ETH. It is a thin, fast path to live memecoin data and trades, provided you accept that the agent holds your keys and that the API terms are the real contract.
- Who is it for?
- Adopt gmgn-skills if you already hold a GMGN API key and want an agent to read live Trenches, trending and holder data, or to place market, limit and trailing stop orders across Solana, BSC, Base and ETH without building a client yourself. Do not adopt it if you need a stable, versioned API contract for production risk systems, if you cannot secure the wallet keys the skill must hold, or if you want to trade on chains outside the four listed.
- Can I use it commercially?
- Yes. MIT is a permissive licence: you can use, modify and sell software built on it, as long as you keep its copyright and licence notices.
- Is it still maintained?
- Yes. The repository last received commits 1 day ago.
- What is it written in?
- Mainly Python, according to GitHub's language statistics.
Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on September 15, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.
DEEP OPEN-SOURCE ANALYSIS
The gap gmgn-skills fills between GMGN's web UI and an autonomous agent
GMGN's web interface is built for a human watching a screen: trending tables, holder breakdowns, a buy panel. An AI agent cannot click those panels. It needs structured responses and a command it can invoke without a browser session. gmgn-skills is that layer. The README describes it as giving agents direct access to GMGN's trending tokens, Trenches listings, and analytics covering Smart Money, KOL, rat trader and bundler wallets, plus order placement. The target user is narrow: someone building or operating an agent that trades memecoins on Solana, BSC, Base or ETH, and who already has a GMGN account and API access. If you are researching tokens manually, the GMGN website does the same job with a chart attached. The repository earns its place only when the caller is software.
Nine skills, one OpenAPI surface, and a natural-language front door
The repository is organised as a set of skills rather than a single monolithic client. The README lists /gmgn-token for token info, security, pool, holders and traders; /gmgn-contract-dd for a 0-100 due-diligence score on one address; /gmgn-holder-analysis for chip distribution, entry cost and whale, dev and KOL behaviour; and /gmgn-market for K-line data and trending tokens. The table is truncated in the supplied README, so the remaining skills and their exact scopes cannot be confirmed from the material here; the count of nine comes from the README's own claim of nine built-in workflow docs, which is a different thing and should not be conflated. Each skill ships a SKILL.md file, and that file is the interface contract an agent reads. The underlying data comes from GMGN's OpenAPI, with the README stating that queries are live on every call rather than served from a snapshot cache, and that trending windows go down to one minute with K-line candles also at one minute. The natural-language layer sits on top: you describe a trade, the agent maps it to the relevant skill and its parameters.
What the order layer actually exposes
The README describes four order shapes: market orders, limit orders, take-profit and stop-loss conditions attached to a swap, and trailing variants that track a price peak and fire after a specified drawdown percentage. There is also multi-wallet batch trading, where several wallets buy at once and each carries its own take-profit, stop-loss, trailing take-profit and trailing stop-loss. Position exits can be expressed as a percentage rather than an absolute amount, with the README giving the example --percent 50 to sell half a position. The README claims order submission under 0.3 seconds end to end and says the routing uses the same engine and RPC routing as GMGN's web trading interface. Those are vendor figures from the project's own documentation, not measurements taken here, and latency will depend on your region, your API tier and network conditions at the moment of the call. Treat the number as an upper-bound claim to validate, not a guarantee.
The analytics fields that make the data layer worth wiring up
The value in gmgn-skills is less the order placement, which many venues offer, and more the named fields the API returns. The README enumerates smart_degen_count for smart money presence, renowned_wallets for KOL holders, rat_trader_amount_rate for volume share from insider or sneak wallets, bundler_trader_amount_rate for bot-bundled buys, sniper_count for wallets that bought at the exact moment of launch, suspected_insider_hold_rate, fresh_wallet_rate, a rug ratio score between 0 and 1, honeypot detection, a wash-trade flag, and is_on_curve to indicate whether a token has graduated from its bonding curve to open DEX trading. These are the fields a screening agent would filter on. The README also lists filtering by launchpad, naming Pump.fun, letsbonk, fourmeme and clanker, alongside dev holdings, KOL entry and rat trader ratio. The practical consequence is that a screening rule can be written as a conjunction of these fields rather than as a heuristic over price and volume alone. Whether each field is populated for every chain and every token is not stated in the material supplied, and that is the first thing to test against your own API responses.
Getting it running: the parts the README does and does not specify
The supplied README does not include an installation block. There is no pip install line, no git clone command, no environment variable list, and no example invocation with real arguments beyond the --percent 50 fragment quoted in the order section. That is a documentation gap, and it matters because the project is Python and the natural entry point would be a package install or a repository checkout followed by running the skill scripts. What the README does give you is the shape of the interface: slash-prefixed skill names such as /gmgn-token and /gmgn-market, each backed by a SKILL.md file under skills/<name>/SKILL.md, and CLI flags in the style of --percent. To get it running, read the SKILL.md for the skill you intend to use, since that file is what the agent consumes and it will carry the parameter names and required credentials. Any claim about a specific install command would be invention on my part, so I am not making one. Verify the install path and the config keys in your own checkout before writing integration code.
Where this design bites: keys, chains and the API contract
Three constraints stand out. First, key custody. The README states that the skills support wallet management and execute on-chain trades, and that trades run through GMGN's routing. An agent that can place market orders and multi-wallet batch buys is an agent holding signing authority over those wallets. The repository does not, in the material provided, describe a key-management model, a hardware-wallet path, or a spending cap. If your threat model includes a compromised agent process, this is the wrong tool until you have isolated the keys yourself. Second, chain coverage. The README names Solana, BSC, Base and ETH, and the repository description names Solana, BSC and Base. Tokens on other chains are out of scope. Third, the API contract. gmgn-skills is a wrapper over GMGN's OpenAPI, so its behaviour tracks that service. Rate limits, endpoint availability and field semantics are set by GMGN, and the README's own framing of querying professional analytics without scraping pages or hitting Cloudflare confirms the dependency. The MIT licence on this repository does not grant you anything on the GMGN service side.
Alternatives and the actual difference in approach
The closest alternative is the GMGN web interface itself. It uses the same routing engine, according to the README, and exposes the same analytics to a human. The difference is the caller: a browser session driven by a person versus an agent invoking skills. If your workflow is discretionary, the web UI is simpler and involves no key custody question for an autonomous process. The other alternative is building your own client directly against GMGN's OpenAPI. That gives you control over retries, caching, logging and key handling, and it avoids depending on a third-party repository's skill definitions and their update cadence. The cost is that you reimplement the parameter mapping and the workflow documents that gmgn-skills already ships, and you take on the same API terms regardless. A third path, using a general-purpose on-chain data provider, trades GMGN's specific memecoin fields (rat trader ratio, bundler exposure, sniper count) for broader chain coverage and a different data model. Which is better depends on whether those named fields are central to your strategy. If they are not, the wrapper's main advantage shrinks considerably.
Maintenance, licence and what to check before you commit
The repository is MIT licensed, which is permissive for the code in this repository: you can use, modify and redistribute it, subject to the licence text. It does not cover GMGN's API, its data, or its terms of service, and nothing here is legal advice; read the GMGN API terms yourself. On maintenance, the last push recorded is 2026-09-10 and no releases were retrieved, so there is no versioned artifact to pin against and no changelog to read. That means upgrades arrive as commits on main, and a change to a SKILL.md parameter or a CLI flag can break an agent prompt without a version bump to warn you. Pin a commit hash in your deployment rather than tracking main. The README also claims 500+ professional data dimensions and nine built-in workflow docs; neither is enumerated in full in the material supplied, so verify the ones you depend on. The concrete next step is to open skills/gmgn-token/SKILL.md and skills/gmgn-market/SKILL.md in your checkout, confirm the flags and config keys match what your agent emits, and run a read-only query against a token you already know before enabling any order path.
Editorial conclusion
Adopt gmgn-skills if you already hold a GMGN API key and want an agent to read live Trenches, trending and holder data, or to place market, limit and trailing stop orders across Solana, BSC, Base and ETH without building a client yourself. Do not adopt it if you need a stable, versioned API contract for production risk systems, if you cannot secure the wallet keys the skill must hold, or if you want to trade on chains outside the four listed. Before wiring it into anything, verify the actual CLI flags and config keys against the SKILL.md files in your checkout, confirm your GMGN API tier covers the endpoints you plan to call, and read the GMGN API terms for rate limits and key handling, because the MIT licence covers this repository and not the service behind it.
Community notes