harleyszhang/dl_note: A Chinese-Language Deep Learning Systems Notebook, Not a Library
深度学习系统笔记,包含深度学习数学基础知识、神经网络基础部件详解、深度学习炼丹策略、模型压缩算法详解。
At a glance
- What is it?
- dl_note is a Markdown note collection covering CNN fundamentals, training practice, model compression and inference deployment, with a paid Triton inference-framework course attached. It is reading material, not installable software, and the README is the only specification you get.
- Who is it for?
- Adopt dl_note if you want a structured Chinese-language reading list on CNN internals, training heuristics and compression, and you are willing to read the source Markdown directly. Do not adopt it if you need an installable dependency, a versioned API, or English documentation, because the repository is a note collection with no releases and no package.
- Can I use it commercially?
- Yes. Apache-2.0 is a permissive licence: you can use, modify and sell software built on it, as long as you keep its copyright and licence notices.
- Is it still maintained?
- Yes. The repository last received commits 15 days ago.
- What is it written in?
- Mainly Python, according to GitHub's language statistics.
Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on September 15, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.
DEEP OPEN-SOURCE ANALYSIS
What dl_note actually is: a notes repository with a course attached
The README describes the repository as personal study notes on computer vision and large language models, covering deep learning fundamentals, neural network components, training strategy, model compression, and inference framework source analysis. The primary language is listed as Python, but nothing in the README describes an importable module, a CLI, or a test suite. The Python label reflects the subject matter of the notes rather than a codebase you install. There are no releases retrieved for the repository, and the default branch is main.
The repository also hosts a paid course on building a large model inference framework, priced at 499 in the README's own wording. That course is a separate commercial product, not part of the Apache-2.0 licensed notes. The README states the course was built jointly with the author of a separate deep learning inference framework project, and that its content is updated over time. So a reader has to separate two things: a free Markdown corpus under Apache-2.0, and a paid course whose materials, support and update policy are not described in this repository.
The intended audience is visible in the section list. Topics run from probability and information theory, through convolution, batch normalisation and activation functions, into backbone architectures, then into data augmentation, imbalanced-sample handling and regularisation, and finally into pruning, distillation and quantisation. That ordering matches someone preparing for computer vision engineering interviews or trying to reconstruct the reasoning behind architecture choices, not someone looking for a drop-in tool.
How the repository is organised, and why the structure matters more than any single note
The README exposes seven numbered sections with stable directory prefixes. Section one is 1-math_ml_basic, holding notes on probability and information theory, machine learning fundamentals, the mathematics of stochastic gradient descent, and a Python programming mind map. Section two is 2-deep_learning_basic, covering convolution layers, batch normalisation, activation functions, backpropagation and gradient descent, parameter initialisation, loss functions and optimisation algorithms. Section three is 3-classic_backbone, with ResNet, DenseNet, ResNetv2 and a summary note, plus an efficient_cnn subdirectory containing MobileNetv1, ShuffleNetv2, RepVGG, CSPNet and VoVNet notes. Section four is 4-deep_learning_alchemy, covering data standardisation, augmentation, imbalanced samples, hyperparameter setting and regularisation. Section five is 5-model_compression, with an overview of compression methods, lightweight network design and deployment, pruning, knowledge distillation and quantisation. Section six is 6-model_deploy, covering CNN complexity analysis, a compression and deployment overview, matrix multiplication, and fusing convolution with batch normalisation, plus ncnn source analysis notes. Section seven is a curated list of external courses and blogs.
The directory naming is the only navigation contract the repository offers. There is no index file, no search tool, no generated site, and no schema for note metadata. If you clone the repository, you are browsing a directory tree of Markdown files whose names are in Chinese. That is workable but it means tooling decisions fall on you: a local Markdown search, or a static site generator, is something you add rather than something the project provides.
One inconsistency is worth flagging. The ncnn source analysis notes are listed in section six in the table of contents but the paths shown in the README point at 5-model_deploy for those two files. If you are scripting a fetch against the README's own links, expect at least one broken path and verify the actual location on the branch.
The mechanism is prose, not code: what the notes actually deliver
Because this is a notes repository, the mechanism is explanation rather than execution. A note on convolution layers, for example, is a Markdown file that walks through the operation, and the README's section headings indicate the coverage spans the layer's definition, its variants and its parameters. The same pattern holds for batch normalisation, activation functions, loss functions and optimisation algorithms. The compression section follows the same shape at a higher level: an overview note, then dedicated notes on pruning, distillation and quantisation.
What this buys you is a single consistent voice across topics that are usually scattered. If you are trying to understand why a fused convolution and batch normalisation layer is equivalent to the original pair at inference time, section six has a note on exactly that transformation, and the surrounding notes on complexity analysis and matrix multiplication give context. The backbone notes and the compression notes are adjacent in the section list, which makes the design-to-deployment path readable in one pass.
What it does not buy you is verification. There are no executable notebooks referenced in the README, no test fixtures, and no stated procedure for checking a formula or a shape calculation against a reference implementation. The README's reference list points at external textbooks and courses, including a machine learning systems text and a Microsoft AI-System course, which suggests the notes are meant to sit alongside those sources rather than replace them. Treat each note as a study aid whose claims you confirm elsewhere.
The paid Triton inference course: what the README promises and what it does not
The course section is the most concrete part of the README. It describes a lightweight inference framework for large models built on Triton and PyTorch, with operators written in Triton using PyTorch-like syntax to avoid CUDA syntax. The stated coverage includes matrix multiplication kernels, PyTorch-based memory management, FlashAttention V1, V2 and V3, grouped-query attention, PagedAttention, and fused operators such as KV linear layer fusion. The README says the project supports llama, qwen2.5 and llava1.5 models, and claims a speedup of up to 4x versus the transformers library on llama3 1B and 3B models.
That speedup figure is the author's own claim in the README. I have not run it, and the README does not state the hardware, batch size, sequence length, precision, or measurement methodology behind the number. Treat it as a marketing claim until you can reproduce it on your own setup. The same applies to the comparison with cuBLAS for the matrix multiplication kernel, which is stated without a benchmark configuration.
The course description also includes interview preparation material: categorised interview questions and a collection of 2025 interview questions for high-performance computing and inference framework roles at large companies. That is a different product from the notes repository. If your interest is the free corpus, the course is irrelevant to you. If your interest is the course, note that the README gives no syllabus file, no refund policy, no update history, and no way to evaluate the code before purchase. The purchase path is a QR code image, which is a thin basis for a commercial decision.
Where this repository is the wrong tool
The clearest failure mode is expecting a dependency. There is no package on any index, no version tag, no changelog and no release. You cannot pin dl_note in a requirements file, and you cannot receive a security advisory for it. If your team's policy requires a maintained upstream with a release cadence, this repository does not qualify, regardless of how good the notes are.
The second failure mode is language. The notes are in Chinese, and the README is in Chinese. For a team that reads English only, the repository's value drops sharply, because machine translation of technical notes about batch normalisation variants or quantisation schemes tends to lose exactly the distinctions that make the notes worth reading. The README does not mention an English translation.
The third failure mode is currency. The last push is dated 2026-08-31, but the repository carries no per-note revision dates. A note written several years ago about a specific backbone may predate changes in how that architecture is implemented in current frameworks. Without per-file history visible from the README, you cannot tell which notes are current and which are archival. If you need guidance that tracks a specific framework version, this is the wrong source.
Finally, the repository mixes free notes with a paid product in the same README. If you are evaluating the repository for internal documentation use, the promotional material for the course is noise you will need to strip out before circulating anything.
Alternatives and how the approach differs
The README itself recommends three external resources, and the difference in approach is instructive. Microsoft's AI-System is described as a deep learning systems course that covers principles from the bottom up, including acceleration methods and matrix multiply-add computation. That is a structured curriculum with a single editorial arc, whereas dl_note is an unordered set of independent notes you assemble into your own path. If you want a course, AI-System is the closer match; if you want to look up one topic, dl_note's per-topic files are easier to dip into.
The README also points at pytorch-deep-learning as a PyTorch tutorial, and at annotated_deep_learning_paper_implementations, which pairs papers with runnable code. That last one is the sharpest contrast. Annotated implementations let you execute the idea and check the output. dl_note gives you prose and formulas. For understanding a pruning algorithm's mechanics, reading may be enough. For confirming that your implementation of it produces the expected sparsity pattern, you need code, and dl_note does not provide it.
A fourth option implied by the reference list is the machine learning systems textbook referenced in the README, which covers systems design and implementation. That sits between a course and a notebook: more structured than dl_note, less executable than annotated implementations. The right choice depends on whether you are trying to build a mental model or to ship a working component.
Licence, maintenance and what to verify before you depend on it
The repository is Apache-2.0. That permits commercial use, modification and redistribution, subject to the licence's notice and attribution conditions. It does not cover the paid course, whose terms are not stated in the README, and it does not cover the images and diagrams embedded in the notes, whose provenance the README does not document. If you plan to reuse diagrams internally, check the origin of each image rather than assuming the repository licence extends to it. This is a description of the licence text, not legal advice; consult your own counsel for a specific reuse plan.
Maintenance cost is hard to estimate from the material. The last push date is the only signal, and there is no issue template, no contribution guide and no stated review process in the README. The repository is not archived, which means it is open to change, but the README does not commit to a schedule. Upgrading is not a concept here, because there is nothing to upgrade: you re-read a file or you do not.
Before depending on any note, check three things. First, open the file on the main branch rather than trusting the README link, since at least the ncnn entries appear to point at a different directory than the section they are listed under. Second, confirm the note cites a primary source you can consult, because the README's reference list is generic and does not map references to individual notes. Third, if you are evaluating the paid course, ask the author directly for the benchmark configuration behind the 4x claim and for a sample of the code, since neither is available in this repository.
Editorial conclusion
Adopt dl_note if you want a structured Chinese-language reading list on CNN internals, training heuristics and compression, and you are willing to read the source Markdown directly. Do not adopt it if you need an installable dependency, a versioned API, or English documentation, because the repository is a note collection with no releases and no package. Before relying on any single note, verify the claims against the paper it cites, since the README offers no per-note review status, no errata list and no stated update cadence beyond the last push date.
Community notes