Model or dataset
Kiln-AI/Kiln avatar
Kiln-AI/Kiln

Kiln: A Local Workbench That Carries One Dataset Through Evals, RAG, Fine-Tuning and Agents

Build, Evaluate, and Optimize AI Systems. Includes evals, RAG, agents, fine-tuning, synthetic data generation, dataset management, MCP, and more.

5,069 stars380 forksPythonNOASSERTION

At a glance

What is it?
Kiln pairs a desktop app for non-coders with an MIT-licensed Python library that ships the same task to production. The pitch is one dataset reused across every stage of the AI development loop; the catch is that the repository does not state a licence file for the desktop distribution.
Who is it for?
Adopt Kiln if you need subject-matter experts and QA staff rating outputs inside the same dataset that your Python code later executes, and if local-first execution with your own API keys or Ollama is acceptable. Do not adopt it if you need a hosted service with a published SLA, or if you cannot tolerate a desktop app as the primary editing surface.
Can I use it commercially?
Check first. The repository uses a licence we do not classify automatically, so read its LICENSE file before any commercial use.
Is it still maintained?
Yes. The repository received new commits within the last day.
What is it written in?
Mainly Python, according to GitHub's language statistics.

Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on September 15, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.

DEEP OPEN-SOURCE ANALYSIS

The gap Kiln is aimed at: one dataset, six techniques, no copy-paste

The README states the problem directly: most AI tooling is either a code-only framework covering one slice (orchestration, or evals, or RAG) or a paid SaaS that holds your data and resists extension. Kiln's answer is a single task and dataset that flow through evals, prompt optimization, fine-tuning, RAG, agents and synthetic data in one tool. The intended user is not only the engineer. The README says the desktop app lets PMs, subject-experts and QA rate outputs and add data without writing code, and that the Python library ships the same tasks to production. That division is the whole product thesis: the people who know whether an answer is good are usually not the people who write the orchestration code, and Kiln tries to remove the handoff between them. If your evaluation data currently lives in a spreadsheet that an engineer transcribes into a pytest fixture, that is the specific friction being targeted.

How the loop actually closes: tasks, datasets and Git as the sync layer

The mechanism visible in the README is a shared task and dataset object. You define a task once; per the README you then "eval it, optimize the prompt, fine-tune a model, generate synthetic data, add RAG", all against the same dataset, with results that compound across stages. The motivation given is regression tracking: a prompt change can quietly regress behavior three steps downstream, and a model upgrade can improve five things and break two. Kiln frames itself as tracking quality across those dimensions so you iterate without breaking what works. Collaboration is handled through Git. The README describes the app as syncing to Git automatically, "even for teammates who don't know what Git is", which means the dataset and task definitions are versioned artifacts rather than rows in someone's hosted account. The Python library is the second half of the data flow: agents built in the app can be deployed to production, so the same definition that a domain expert edited is what runs in your service. The README also mentions an Auto-Optimize stage that searches over prompt, model selection, tools, skills, subagents and parameters, and an Eval Builder that auto-generates a judge plus a synthetic eval dataset. Both are described as automation over the same task, not as separate products.

Installing it: a one-click desktop build and a Python package

There are two entry points and they are deliberately different. The app path is a download from kiln.tech/download for macOS, Windows or Linux, followed by the 5-minute quickstart in the docs. Nothing in the supplied material describes a package manager install for the desktop build, and the release tags are named for the desktop product (Kiln Desktop v1.1.1, v1.0.4, v1.0.3), so the app and the library appear to be versioned separately. The code path is the Python library, published on PyPI as kiln-ai, with the quickstart at docs.kiln.tech/developers/python-library-quickstart. The README does not print the pip command, so check the quickstart page for the exact invocation rather than guessing at an extra. Configuration is bring-your-own-key: the README says Kiln runs locally and you either supply your own API keys or go fully offline with Ollama. Fine-tuning is delegated to Fireworks, Together and Vertex, with serverless deployment included according to the README. RAG is built by dragging documents (PDF, image, video, audio) into the app, and the README claims RAG evals are auto-generated from those same documents. The model library is described as 190+ tested models. Because the library is the production surface and the app is the authoring surface, the practical install question is whether the two versions you pick agree; the material does not state a compatibility matrix, so treat that as something to confirm before you build a workflow on it.

Where the design costs you: local-first, app-first, licence ambiguity

Three constraints stand out. First, the primary editing surface is a desktop application. The README repeatedly frames the app as the place where tasks are built and rated, with the Python library as the deployment target. If your team works entirely in CI, or you need to review prompt changes as diffs in a pull request rather than as edits in a GUI, the app-first model is friction rather than help. Git sync softens this but does not remove it. Second, local-first means you own the operational surface: your keys, your Ollama instance, your machine. There is no hosted service described in the material, so there is no SLA, no shared queue and no server-side audit trail beyond whatever Git records. Third, the licence situation needs your own reading. The repository metadata reports NOASSERTION, while the README describes the Python library as MIT open-source. Those two statements are not the same claim, and the material does not reconcile them or say what covers the desktop distribution. That is not a reason to avoid the project, but it is a reason to read the licence files in the repository before you ship anything commercial on top of the app. A fourth, softer limitation: the README's headline claims (aligning evals in about ten minutes, generating data in minutes, zero-code fine-tuning across 60+ models) are the project's own framing. The supplied material contains no independent measurement of any of them, so treat the time estimates as product copy rather than as observed results.

What Kiln is not: the case for a code-only eval library

The clearest alternative in the same problem space is a code-only evaluation library such as promptfoo or the eval modules inside a framework like LangChain, where the test suite is Python or YAML in your repository and the only interface is the command line. The difference in approach is real, not cosmetic. In a code-only library, the source of truth is a file your CI already runs, and a domain expert contributes by filing a ticket that an engineer turns into a case. In Kiln, the source of truth is a task in the app that syncs to Git, and the domain expert contributes by rating outputs directly. That trade buys you participation from non-engineers and costs you the ability to treat the eval set as just another module. If your reviewers are all engineers and your eval set is small and stable, a code-only library will be less machinery for the same result. Kiln's advantage appears when the bottleneck is human judgement at volume, not when it is test runner speed.

Maintenance, releases and what to pin

The release cadence visible in the supplied data is roughly monthly for the desktop product: v1.0.3 in June 2026, v1.0.4 in July, v1.1.1 in August, with the last repository push in September 2026. The project is not archived. That cadence matters for two reasons. A monthly desktop release means your non-technical collaborators will be prompted to update, and you should decide whether they update freely or whether you pin a version across the team so that everyone rates against the same UI. Separately, because the Python library is distributed independently on PyPI as kiln-ai, your production dependency and your team's app version can drift apart. Pin the library version in your requirements file, and record which desktop version produced the dataset, so that a later disagreement about an eval result can be traced to a specific pair of versions. On licence: the README's MIT claim applies, as written, to the Python library. The NOASSERTION metadata on the repository means GitHub could not classify a licence from the files present. Confirm what actually covers the desktop build before you depend on it commercially; this article cannot resolve that for you.

A concrete first week with Kiln

Start with the app, not the library. Install the desktop build, run the 5-minute quickstart, and define one task with a dataset small enough that you can read every row. Use the Eval Builder to generate a judge and a synthetic eval set, then rate a sample of outputs yourself so you have a human baseline to compare the judge against. Only after that, install kiln-ai and deploy the same task from Python, which is the point at which you find out whether the app-to-production handoff holds for your stack. If your task needs retrieval, drag in a handful of real documents and check whether the auto-generated RAG evals resemble the questions your users actually ask; that is the step most likely to need manual correction. Skip the fine-tuning stage in week one. It routes through Fireworks, Together or Vertex, which means an external account and a real bill before you have confirmed that the eval loop itself is telling you something true.

Editorial conclusion

Adopt Kiln if you need subject-matter experts and QA staff rating outputs inside the same dataset that your Python code later executes, and if local-first execution with your own API keys or Ollama is acceptable. Do not adopt it if you need a hosted service with a published SLA, or if you cannot tolerate a desktop app as the primary editing surface. Before committing, verify three things yourself: the actual licence terms of the desktop build, since the repository reports NOASSERTION while the README describes the Python library as MIT; whether the Python library version on PyPI matches the desktop release you install; and whether your target fine-tuning provider is among the three named in the README. Start with the 5-minute quickstart and one small eval, not with a migration of an existing production pipeline.

Official sources

  1. Issues
  2. Kiln-AI/Kiln on GitHub
  3. Project website
  4. README
  5. Releases
Community notes

Community notes