Ultimate AI Engineer Roadmap 2026: A 17-Phase Curriculum With 51 Projects, Not a Library
Ultimate AI Engineer Roadmap 2026 - built specifically for your context as an AI Architect building PrinceSinghAI, PrinceSinghDev, Multi-LLM orchestration, RoadmapAI, CodeLLM, and AskAI, Global AI Search
At a glance
- What is it?
- This repository is a study plan, not software. It maps 17 phases from Python fundamentals to multi-LLM orchestration, and its README doubles as the syllabus. The value is in the ordering and the project prompts; the cost is that nothing here executes.
- Who is it for?
- Adopt this if you already write Python and want a sequenced reading list for multi-LLM orchestration, RAG, and agent work, and you are willing to supply every project spec yourself. Skip it if you need runnable code, tests, or a maintained dependency set, because the repository ships prose and a video link, not an installable package.
- Can I use it commercially?
- Yes. MIT is a permissive licence: you can use, modify and sell software built on it, as long as you keep its copyright and licence notices.
- Is it still maintained?
- Yes. The repository last received commits 46 days ago.
- What is it written in?
- GitHub does not report a main language for this repository.
Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on September 15, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.
DEEP OPEN-SOURCE ANALYSIS
What the Repository Actually Contains
There is no package to install here. The repository is a README that describes a curriculum, plus a link to a YouTube video (the README embeds a thumbnail for video ID 7Gxu-VCPJ0A) and a homepage at preparationstreet.com/trishul. The primary language field is listed as unknown, which fits: the material is Markdown outlining what to learn, not a codebase you clone and run. The licence is MIT, and the last push date in the repository metadata is 2026-08-01. No releases were retrieved, so there is no versioned snapshot to pin against.
That framing matters because the title invites a category error. Someone searching for an AI engineering toolkit may land here expecting an orchestration library. What they get is a table of contents for a self-directed course, with phase names, bullet lists of topics, and a project count. The README states there are 17 phases plus a capstone, and that every phase carries three projects (Easy, Medium, Hard), for 51 projects total, with the capstone described as a full multi-LLM platform architecture.
The intended reader is named in the description: an AI Architect building PrinceSinghAI, PrinceSinghDev, RoadmapAI, CodeLLM, and AskAI. That is unusually specific. Most roadmaps address a generic learner. This one is written for one person's project portfolio, which tells you both who benefits most and how narrow the framing is.
The Problem It Solves: Sequencing, Not Content
The hard part of becoming an AI engineer is not finding material. It is deciding what to learn first, what to skip, and when a topic is a prerequisite for the next one. The README addresses that directly with a routing table. A fresher is told to follow Phase 1 through Phase 4 in order, a foundation-first approach. A mid-level engineer starts at Phase 3 and revisits Phase 1 and 2 gaps. An expert jumps to Phase 5, 6, 7, and 8 for advanced systems and architecture.
That three-entry routing table is the most useful thing in the document, and it is also the thinnest. It gives three starting points and no exit criteria. Nothing tells a mid-level reader how to decide that their Phase 2 gap is closed. The phase list itself is where the sequencing argument lives: math and statistics (Phase 2) precede machine learning (Phase 3), which precedes deep learning (Phase 4), which precedes NLP and transformers (Phase 5), which precedes LLM engineering (Phase 6). That chain is defensible. You cannot reason about attention if you have not seen the linear algebra underneath it.
The README also draws a boundary the reader needs. Phase 0 contrasts an AI Engineer against an ML Engineer in a two-column table: the AI Engineer uses pre-trained models via APIs and focuses on integration and prompt engineering; the ML Engineer trains models from scratch and owns data pipelines and evaluation. The table ends with a blunt cell: "You are this" under AI Engineer. That is a positioning claim, not a neutral comparison, and it sets the tone for the rest of the curriculum. Anyone who actually wants to train models from scratch is being told, politely, to look elsewhere.
Phase 7 and Phase 8 Are the Center of Gravity
The roadmap's own description singles out Phase 7, Multi-LLM Orchestration, as the author's specialty, and the topic list backs that up: routing, fallbacks, MCP, LangGraph, LangChain, CrewAI, AutoGen. Phase 8 covers RAG and vector databases with named advanced techniques: HyDE, reranking, hybrid search. Phase 9 covers AI agents and agentic systems, and the README parenthetically labels it the AskAI framework, tying the curriculum back to the author's own projects.
This is where the repository is most opinionated and, by the same token, most exposed. Naming six orchestration frameworks in a bullet list is a signal about breadth, but the README excerpt does not show what the reader is supposed to do with each one. Is LangGraph compared against CrewAI? Is MCP introduced as a protocol with a worked example? The material does not say. A reader who needs to choose one framework for a production system will not find the decision criteria in the phase list.
The same applies to Phase 8. HyDE and reranking are specific enough to search for, but the README gives no indication of how they are taught or whether the projects require implementing them or merely calling a library that does. For a curriculum, that distinction is the whole difference between understanding and familiarity. Treat the phase list as an index of terms to verify against the linked video and homepage, not as a guarantee of depth.
How You Actually Use It
There is no install step. The README gives no pip command, no environment file, no config keys, and no CLI. The only concrete pointers are the YouTube link and https://www.preparationstreet.com/trishul. Usage is therefore a reading and building exercise: open the README, pick a starting phase from the routing table, and work the three projects at the end of that phase.
The one operational detail the README does supply is the difficulty legend attached to each project: green for Easy (build confidence, reinforce fundamentals), yellow for Medium (real-world patterns, production thinking), red for Hard (production-grade, multi-system, scalable). That legend is the closest thing to a workflow instruction in the document. It implies a loop: read the phase topics, then attempt green, then yellow, then red, and only move to the next phase when the red project is done. The README does not state that rule explicitly, but the ordering of the legend and the routing table both point at it.
Because the repository has no releases, there is nothing to pin. If you fork it to track your own progress, you are versioning a Markdown file, and the upstream will keep moving as phases are edited. That is a real cost for anyone who wants a stable reference: the curriculum you start will not be the curriculum you finish.
Where It Falls Short as a Learning Resource
The most obvious gap is that the projects are counted but not specified in the material provided. The README promises 51 projects and a capstone, and it tells you each phase has three at graded difficulty. It does not show a single project brief. Without acceptance criteria, a learner cannot tell whether their Easy solution is adequate or whether they have missed the point of the phase. That is a failure mode specific to project-based curricula: the project is the assessment, and an unspecified assessment teaches less than a specified one.
The second gap is depth calibration. Phase 1 lists Python fundamentals down to `__repr__`, `__str__`, `__len__`, `__getitem__`, `@property`, `@staticmethod`, `@classmethod`, and abstract classes with `ABC`, which the README notes are used heavily in LangChain and LlamaIndex. It also covers `pickle`, `glob`, `itertools`, `cProfile`, and NumPy array operations. That is a lot of surface for one phase, and it sits next to Phase 2, which covers linear algebra, calculus, probability, and optimization. Either phase could absorb months. The roadmap gives no time estimates, so the reader has no way to budget.
The third gap is the ML Engineer comparison. Framing the AI Engineer role as API integration and prompt engineering, with model training placed entirely on the other side of the table, is a simplification that will mislead anyone working on fine-tuning. Phase 10 covers LoRA, QLoRA, DPO, and RLHF, and Phase 16 returns to RLHF, DPO, and PPO. Those are training techniques. The Phase 0 table says you are not the person who trains models; Phase 10 and Phase 16 say you will study how. The README never reconciles the two, and a reader who takes the table literally may skip the phases that contradict it.
The Alternative: A Framework's Own Documentation
The natural substitute for a curriculum like this is the documentation of the tools it names. If your goal is to ship a multi-LLM system with routing and fallbacks, LangGraph and LangChain ship their own tutorials, concept guides, and API references, and those documents describe the actual abstractions you will call. The difference in approach is stark. A framework's docs are versioned against the code, updated when behaviour changes, and include runnable examples. This roadmap is a static Markdown file whose last push is recorded as 2026-08-01, and it names frameworks in a bullet list without pinning versions.
That does not make the roadmap redundant. Framework documentation is organized around the framework, not around the learner. It will teach you LangGraph's state model without first telling you why you need a graph at all, and it will not sequence RAG before agents or transformers before LLM engineering. The roadmap supplies the ordering and the breadth; the framework docs supply the executable detail. If you had to pick one, pick the docs, because you can ship with them. If you can afford both, use the roadmap to decide what to read next and the docs to actually build it.
A second alternative worth naming is a structured course with graded assignments. The roadmap's 51 projects gesture at that model but stop at the count. A course that ships project briefs and rubrics solves the assessment gap described above. The trade-off is cost and pace: courses move on a schedule, and this roadmap lets you start at Phase 5 today.
Licence, Maintenance, and What to Verify
The repository is MIT licensed, which is permissive and places few obligations on reuse. For a Markdown curriculum, the practical implication is that you can fork it, adapt the phase list to your team's onboarding, and redistribute it, provided you keep the licence notice. This is not legal advice; read the MIT text yourself before reusing it in a commercial training product, and check whether the embedded video and the preparationstreet.com link carry their own terms, since the licence on the repository does not automatically cover third-party media it points to.
Maintenance cost is low in the sense that there is nothing to upgrade. There are no dependencies, no CI, no build step, and no releases to track. That is also the risk. The curriculum's usefulness decays as the frameworks it names change, and there is no changelog to tell you when a phase has gone stale. The last push timestamp is the only freshness signal available.
Before you invest weeks, verify three things in the live README. First, whether Phase 7 and Phase 8 include enough detail to write the three projects without external help. Second, whether the capstone description goes beyond the phrase "full multi-LLM platform architecture" to state what the system must do. Third, whether the video covers the project briefs that the text omits. If the answers are no, the roadmap is a reading list, and you should treat it as one.
Editorial conclusion
Adopt this if you already write Python and want a sequenced reading list for multi-LLM orchestration, RAG, and agent work, and you are willing to supply every project spec yourself. Skip it if you need runnable code, tests, or a maintained dependency set, because the repository ships prose and a video link, not an installable package. Before committing time, open the README and confirm that Phase 7 and Phase 8 contain enough detail for you to write the three projects unaided, since the README excerpt shows topic lists rather than specifications.
Community notes