Model or dataset
tingaicompass/AI-Compass avatar
tingaicompass/AI-Compass

AI-Compass: a curated Chinese-language AI knowledge base you install as a coding-agent Skill

“AI-Compass”将为社区指引在 AI 技术海洋中航行的方向,无论你是初学者还是进阶开发者,都能在这里找到通往 AI 各大方向的路径。旨在帮助开发者系统性地了解 AI 的核心概念、主流技术、前沿趋势,并通过实践掌握从理论到落地的全过程。

945 stars126 forksPythonLicense varies

At a glance

What is it?
AI-Compass is a Python repository that organises AI learning material into nine modules and ships an install prompt that turns the repo into a local knowledge base for Claude Code, Codex, Cursor or Windsurf. It is a reading and retrieval resource, not a library you import, and the licence is not stated in the material provided.
Who is it for?
Adopt AI-Compass if you want a curated Chinese-language map of AI topics that a coding agent can query locally, and if you are comfortable that the project is a content repository rather than a package. Do not adopt it if you need a pinned, versioned dependency with a stated licence, or if your team works in English and needs English source material.
Can I use it commercially?
Not without permission. GitHub finds no licence file in the repository, and without a licence all rights are reserved by default: you may read the code but not reuse it. Check the README, or ask the authors, before using it.
Is it still maintained?
Yes. The repository last received commits 5 days ago.
What is it written in?
Mainly Python, according to GitHub's language statistics.

Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on September 15, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.

DEEP OPEN-SOURCE ANALYSIS

The problem AI-Compass addresses: scattered AI reading material with no retrieval path

The stated audience is broad on purpose. The README lists AI beginners, working developers, product managers, researchers, enterprise teams and job seekers as intended readers, and frames the repository as a way to find a path through AI topics rather than a single tool. The concrete problem is that AI learning material is spread across blog posts, model leaderboards, framework docs and community threads, and there is no maintained index that says which item belongs to which stage of learning. AI-Compass answers that with a fixed nine-module structure: a blog module, a Code module, a fundamentals module, a technology framework module, an applied practice module, a products and tools module, a learning resources module, an enterprise open source module and a community and platforms module. Each of those is a directory of links plus, in some cases, original writing. The repository is written in Chinese and the external links point mostly at Chinese-language sources, including the author's CSDN blog and Zhihu profile. That is the first thing to settle before adopting it: the value is in the curation and the language it is curated in.

Why the install path is a coding-agent Skill instead of a pip package

AI-Compass is tagged as Python, but the README does not present an importable library. The quickest way in is a prompt you paste into a coding agent. The README gives this text verbatim: if the machine does not already have AI-Compass, clone https://github.com/tingaicompass/AI-Compass.git, then follow https://raw.githubusercontent.com/tingaicompass/AI-Compass/main/Install.md to install it as a local knowledge base Skill usable by both Codex and Claude Code, and report the install path, the verification result and whether the client needs a restart. That is the whole integration story as documented. The mechanism implied by the prompt is a clone plus a root-level install script that creates symlinks into the agent's Skill directories, followed by a verification step. The README says the prompt causes the agent to "按需克隆仓库、执行根目录安装脚本并验证软链接" (clone the repo as needed, run the root install script and verify the symlinks). I have not run Install.md and cannot confirm what it writes, which directories it targets, or whether it is idempotent. Treat that file as the thing to read before you execute it.

The nine modules and what each one actually holds

The module list is the project's real product. The blog module is described as holding systematic technical articles, currently covering Python fundamentals, algorithm problem solutions and general programming skill, with LLM guides, interview material and enterprise project walkthroughs listed as future additions. The Code module is described as runnable AI demos, currently RAG engineering samples, with more project code promised. The fundamentals module is positioned as the entry point for tooling selection: AI navigation tools, prompt engineering, LLM leaderboards, language models and multimodal model resources. The technology framework module covers embedding models, training frameworks, inference deployment, evaluation frameworks and RLHF. The applied practice module covers RAG with workflow, agents, GraphRAG and MCP plus A2A. The remaining four modules hold AI products and competition resources, learning platforms and interview resources, enterprise open source from Huawei, Tencent, Alibaba, Baidu PaddlePaddle and Datawhale, and community platforms. Read the tense carefully: several modules are described as containing one category now and more later. The Code module is the clearest example, and it is the module most likely to disappoint someone expecting a runnable toolkit.

The weekly highlights are the part with a maintenance contract

The weeklyHighlights directory is the only part of the repository where the README states an explicit update rule. It points readers at latest.md and INDEX.md as the entry files, and says that when new weekly reports are added, both files must be updated together, with TEMPLATE.md used to supply metadata. Twenty-three past issues are listed, running from a NativeMind and Gen-CLI roundup through Qwen3-Max, Sora 2, DeepSeek-V3.2 and xLLM. Each issue is a short survey of recent model and tool releases. This is a different kind of artefact from the module directories: the modules are a slowly changing index, while the weekly file is a dated snapshot with a stated convention for keeping it current. If you install the repository as an agent Skill and then ask it about a model released after your clone date, the answer will be stale, because the agent reads local files. The README's install prompt does not describe a refresh or pull step. That gap is worth resolving yourself before you rely on the Skill for anything time-sensitive.

The contribution format tells you how the index is maintained

The resource submission section asks contributors to open a GitHub Issue with a fixed template: title, tool name, official link, category, one-line summary, three core capabilities, target audience, open source or paid status, supplementary links and a submitter note. The README states that complete information, stable links and strong relevance to AI learning, development or applied practice are preferred, that commercial tools may be submitted if pricing, free quota or trial terms are stated, and that the project does not sell ranking positions. Maintainers sort submissions by content quality, usability and community value. This is a manual editorial process, and the template exists to keep it that way. The practical consequence for a reader is that coverage depth is uneven: a tool whose submitter filled in all fields will be described better than one that arrived as a bare link. It also means the index reflects one maintainer's judgement about what belongs, which is a feature if you share that judgement and a constraint if you do not.

What AI-Compass is not, and what to use instead for runnable code

If you need a framework you can import, pin and test, AI-Compass is the wrong shape. It has no releases retrieved, no stated versioning scheme and no licence recorded in the supplied material, so you cannot express it as a dependency or reason about upgrade semantics. A concrete alternative in the same subject area is the retrieval pipeline itself: the Code module's RAG samples are described as demos to read and adapt, whereas a framework such as LangChain or LlamaIndex ships installable packages with documented APIs and version numbers you can pin in requirements.txt. The difference in approach is not quality, it is contract. AI-Compass gives you a maintained map and a set of examples to study; a framework gives you code with a release cadence. Reading AI-Compass before choosing a framework is a reasonable order of operations. Expecting AI-Compass to be the framework is not, and the README never claims it is.

Maintenance cost, licence status and what to check before you clone

The repository is not archived and the last push recorded is 2026-09-08, so it is being touched. The weekly highlights format implies ongoing editorial work rather than code maintenance, which keeps the cost low for the maintainer and the freshness high for readers, as long as the weekly cadence holds. For you as a user, the recurring cost is re-cloning or pulling to keep the local Skill current, plus the time to read Install.md and confirm what it links where. The licence is the open item. The supplied material records no licence identifier, and the repository contains a picture directory with a WeChat contact image, a Knowledge Planet coupon page and a link to a Coze-hosted site. Those are commercial and community touchpoints sitting alongside the open content, and without a licence file you have no stated terms for redistributing or reusing the material. That is not a reason to avoid reading it, but it is a reason to check the repository root for a LICENSE file before you mirror it, vendor it into an internal wiki, or ship any part of it inside a product. I cannot tell you what that file says, because it was not in the material I was given.

Editorial conclusion

Adopt AI-Compass if you want a curated Chinese-language map of AI topics that a coding agent can query locally, and if you are comfortable that the project is a content repository rather than a package. Do not adopt it if you need a pinned, versioned dependency with a stated licence, or if your team works in English and needs English source material. Before installing, verify three things: the contents of Install.md, what the install script actually symlinks and where, and the licence, which the supplied material does not state.

Official sources

  1. Issues
  2. Project website
  3. README
  4. tingaicompass/AI-Compass on GitHub
Community notes

Community notes