Open-source project
Anil-matcha/ai-creator-academy avatar
Anil-matcha/ai-creator-academy

AI Creator Academy: a free curriculum for selling generative AI work

Free, open-source curriculum for making money with generative AI image, video, and audio — for creators and agencies.

2,046 stars384 forksUnknownMIT

At a glance

What is it?
Anil-matcha/ai-creator-academy is an MIT-licensed repository of 15 business tracks built around image, video and audio generation. Only one track is written; the rest are mapped in ROADMAP.md.
Who is it for?
Adopt it if you already generate images, video or audio and need the commercial layer: pricing bands, positioning, a script structure, and a first-client path. Do not adopt it if you want a complete course today, because the README states that Track 1 is the only fully-written track and the other 14 are mapped in ROADMAP.md.
Can I use it commercially?
Yes. MIT is a permissive licence: you can use, modify and sell software built on it, as long as you keep its copyright and licence notices.
Is it still maintained?
Yes. The repository last received commits 39 days ago.
What is it written in?
GitHub does not report a main language for this repository.

Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on September 29, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.

Editorial analysis

The gap AI Creator Academy is aimed at

Most generative AI instruction splits into two kinds. One kind teaches prompting: how to get a better image out of a model. The other teaches building: how to wire a model into an application. The README argues that both miss the same thing, and states the project's own scope plainly: it teaches how to turn AI-generated image, video or audio, or a tool you build with a coding agent, into a priced service or product. The stated audience is creators and agencies, not researchers or platform engineers.

The README also names the competition it is measuring itself against: paid communities in the Skool and Whop style, described as charging $47 to $97 per month, already clustered around the same niches. The project's claim is not that those communities are wrong about demand. It is that a free version can exist which cites numbers instead of vague income claims and treats getting paid as the main subject rather than a closing paragraph. That framing is the whole pitch, and it is worth judging the repository on whether the written material actually delivers it.

Fifteen tracks, one of them written

The repository is organised as 15 independent tracks, numbered, according to the README, by demand evidence and coverage breadth rather than by difficulty or prerequisite order. They range from AI video ads and UGC through filmmaking, faceless channels, avatars, audio, product photography, fashion try-on, real estate staging, headshots, print-on-demand, stock licensing and freelancing, ending with a track on agents and vibe-coding for creators.

The status column tells the real story. Every track is marked Live, but the README then says Track 1, AI Video Ads & UGC, is the only fully-written track today and calls it the proof-of-format pilot every other track will follow. The badge at the top of the README claims 64 modules mapped, and the per-track module counts in the table add up to 64. Mapped is the operative word. If you arrive expecting a finished course, you will find one complete track, one template, and a roadmap. That is a legitimate way to publish a curriculum in public, but it is not the same product as a finished one, and the README is honest about the difference in the body text even while the badges read more confidently.

The module shape and why the last stage matters

Every module is documented as following one structure: Problem, Concept, Do It, Compare Tools, Launch It, Exercises. The README describes what each stage is for. Problem and Concept establish the pain and the mental model before any steps. Do It is the step-by-step workflow. Launch It covers pricing, positioning and where to find a first client, and the README states directly that this is the part most tutorials skip.

Compare Tools is the stage worth scrutinising. The README says it presents the tradeoff between API-based generation, other paid tools, and local or self-hosted models, and adds that it never simply concludes that APIs are easier. That is a design commitment, and it is the one most likely to age badly, because model pricing and local hardware requirements move faster than curriculum text. A module that compares options honestly in one quarter can read as stale two quarters later. The repository has a CHANGELOG.md at the top level, so there is at least a place where revisions are recorded, but the README does not describe how often the comparison stages are revisited.

Installing nothing: how to start using the repository

There is no package to install and no server to run. The README's Getting started section points at Track 1 as the entry point, and the content lives as Markdown files under tracks/. The practical first step is to clone the repository and read the pilot track in order.

bash
git clone https://github.com/Anil-matcha/ai-creator-academy.git
cd ai-creator-academy
ls tracks/01-ai-video-ads-ugc/

The directory listing should show the five module files named in the README: 01-how-ugc-works.md, 02-character-consistency.md, 03-building-an-ad-batch.md, 04-pricing-and-selling-ugc.md and 05-case-study-teardown.md. If you want to write a module yourself, the top level contains LESSON_TEMPLATE.md and CONTRIBUTING.md, which is where the repository states its format expectations.

The first real use is Module 1's script structure, which the README reproduces as a five-part outline: a hook in the first 0 to 2 seconds, a problem or pitch from 2 to 15 seconds, proof or demo from 15 to 25 seconds, and a call to action from 25 to 30 seconds. That is a 30-second ad skeleton you can apply to a product you already sell before reading anything else. Module 4 gives the pricing anchors that go with it: $10 to $55 per ad at gig level, $150 to $300 for a batch of 5 to 8 ads, and $1,500 to $3,000 per month for an agency retainer. The README states these are anchored to documented freelance-marketplace and agency-retainer ranges.

What the repository does not give you

The gaps are structural, not accidental. Fourteen of the fifteen tracks are mapped rather than written, so anyone whose interest is audio, product photography or print-on-demand gets a roadmap entry and a directory, not a curriculum. The README does not state a schedule for the remaining tracks.

The pricing figures are the second limitation. Ranges like $10 to $55 per ad are useful as anchors and useless as quotes. They are also the part of the curriculum most exposed to market movement, since the freelance marketplaces they are drawn from reprice continuously. The README does not document a review cadence for those numbers.

Third, the repository is text. It cites the generative-media models used throughout the curriculum and links to an external playground and white-label studio, but it does not ship model weights, API keys, or a runnable pipeline. If you cannot already operate a generative image or video tool, the curriculum gives you the business frame without the production capability underneath it. The README also does not document rollback, versioning or deprecation for modules that get rewritten, beyond the presence of CHANGELOG.md.

How it differs from a general AI course

A general generative AI course usually teaches a tool: here is the interface, here is how to prompt it, here is what the output looks like. The difference in approach here is that the tool is treated as an input you already have, and the subject is the transaction around it. That is why the module shape ends in Launch It rather than in a summary, and why the pricing table sits inside a module rather than in an appendix.

The tradeoff is depth. A tool-focused course can go deep on one model's parameters because that is the entire subject. This curriculum spreads across fifteen business models, so the technical content in any single module is necessarily thinner. If your problem is that your generated video looks wrong, this repository will not fix it. If your problem is that you can generate convincing video and nobody is paying you for it, the written track addresses exactly that, and the pricing bands give you a starting number instead of a guess.

Editorial conclusion

Adopt it if you already generate images, video or audio and need the commercial layer: pricing bands, positioning, a script structure, and a first-client path. Do not adopt it if you want a complete course today, because the README states that Track 1 is the only fully-written track and the other 14 are mapped in ROADMAP.md. Before relying on it, verify two things in the repository: the module count and status for the track you care about, and whether the cited pricing ranges still match the marketplaces you plan to sell on. The MIT licence covers the text; it says nothing about the commercial rights of the models or tools a module points you to.

Frequently asked questions

What is AI Creator Academy?

It is a free, MIT-licensed curriculum repository for making money with generative AI image, video and audio, aimed at creators and agencies. It is organised as 15 tracks, with Track 1, AI Video Ads & UGC, described in the README as the only fully-written track.

Is AI Creator Academy free?

Yes. The repository is MIT-licensed and the README presents it as the free alternative to paid communities it describes as charging $47 to $97 per month. The curriculum links out to external tools, and the README does not state that those are free.

Is the AI Creator Academy course any good?

The README states that Track 1 is the only fully-written track and that the other 14 are mapped in ROADMAP.md, so the answer depends on which track you need. Track 1 covers five modules from how UGC works through pricing and a case study teardown.

Is AI Creator Academy legit?

It is a public GitHub repository under the MIT licence with a documented module structure and a CHANGELOG.md at the top level. The README states that its pricing ranges are anchored to documented freelance-marketplace and agency-retainer ranges rather than invented.

Is Creator Academy worth it?

For someone who already generates AI image, video or audio and needs pricing and positioning, the written Track 1 covers that ground. For anyone whose interest is one of the other 14 tracks, the README offers a roadmap entry rather than finished modules.

Official sources

  1. Anil-matcha/ai-creator-academy on GitHub
  2. Issues
  3. License: MIT
  4. README
Add this badge to your README

If you maintain this project, the badge below links readers to this analysis and shows its maintenance status from the daily GitHub snapshot. Paste the markdown into your README; add ?metric=license or ?metric=stars to the image URL for a different field.

Add this badge to your README

markdown
[![Hysen Labs](https://hysenlabs.com/badge/anil-matcha-ai-creator-academy.svg)](https://hysenlabs.com/projects/anil-matcha-ai-creator-academy)