Model or dataset
https-deeplearning-ai/deeplearning-ai avatar
https-deeplearning-ai/deeplearning-ai

https-deeplearning-ai/deeplearning-ai: what the companion code repo actually contains

DeepLearning AI's centralized hub for course materials and resources.

467 stars71 forksPythonLicense varies

At a glance

What is it?
It is not a course platform and not a library. It is a directory repo that points to per-course companion repositories, plus a Tools/ folder for cookbooks such as the Chroma database viewer.
Who is it for?
Clone it if you already know which DeepLearning.AI course you are taking and want to find that course's companion repository without hunting through GitHub. Do not clone it expecting runnable course notebooks, a syllabus, or a local copy of the course platform: the README states that course videos, instruction and labs live on deeplearning.ai, and that course code lives in separate repositories, one per course.
Can I use it commercially?
Not without permission. GitHub finds no licence file in the repository, and without a licence all rights are reserved by default: you may read the code but not reuse it. Check the README, or ask the authors, before using it.
Is it still maintained?
Yes. The repository last received commits 120 days ago.
What is it written in?
Mainly Python, according to GitHub's language statistics.

Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on October 10, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.

Editorial analysis

What the https-deeplearning-ai/deeplearning-ai repository is for

The repository is an index, not a course. Its README describes itself as "Your index to the open-source companion repositories for DeepLearning.AI courses," and states plainly that each course's notebooks, labs, starter projects and reading materials live in their own GitHub repo. That sentence is the whole design brief. If you are looking for the notebooks from a specific short course, they are not here; the README gives you the link that takes you to them.

The audience is narrow and specific. It is for someone who is already enrolled in, or evaluating, a DeepLearning.AI course and wants the code artifacts that accompany it. It is also for people who want the small set of standalone tools the team publishes under Tools/, which the README describes as "Cookbooks and tools created for learning and/or using tools, often grouped by company," with Tools/Chroma/database-viewer named as an example.

It is not for someone who wants a self-contained learning path. There is no curriculum file, no ordering, no prerequisites. The catalog table is a set of links out.

How the directory is laid out and where the code actually lives

The top level of the repository holds .gitignore, OWNERS.md, README.md, Tools/ and assets/. That is the entire visible structure. There is no src/, no notebooks/ directory, no requirements.txt at the root that would suggest a runnable Python project, despite Python being listed as the primary language.

The README explains the split: a table maps folders to contents, and the only folder it lists is Tools/, described as holding cookbooks and tools grouped by company. Course code is deliberately elsewhere. The README says to browse the Course Catalog section, use each course's GitHub link, and then "follow that repo's README.md for setup instructions specific to that course." Setup instructions are therefore per-course and out of scope for this repository.

The catalog itself is a table of courses, each row carrying a thumbnail image, a course title linking to deeplearning.ai, a one-line description, and a GitHub sub-link. Examples visible in the README include Spec-Driven Development with Agentic Coding Assistants pointing at https-deeplearning-ai/sc-spec-driven-development-files, Gemini CLI pointing at https-deeplearning-ai/sc-gemini-cli-files, Governing AI Agents at https-deeplearning-ai/sc-agent-governance, Document AI at https-deeplearning-ai/sc-landingai, Streamlit prototyping at https-deeplearning-ai/fast-prototyping-of-genai-apps-with-streamlit, and Jupyter AI at https-deeplearning-ai/sc-jupyterAI-notebooks. The README warns that this is not an exhaustive list of courses and points to the full catalog on deeplearning.ai.

The assets/ folder holds the banner image and course thumbnails referenced by the README. If you clone the repository, that is most of the disk footprint: markdown, images, and the Tools/ tree.

Cloning the repo and reading the catalog

There are no install steps for this repository itself, because there is nothing to install. The README does not document a package, a CLI, or a Python dependency for the top level. What you can do is clone it and read the catalog, then follow the link for the course you want.

Start by cloning and listing the top level, so you can see the two things that matter: the README and the Tools folder.

bash
git clone https://github.com/https-deeplearning-ai/deeplearning-ai.git
cd deeplearning-ai
ls

The listing should show .gitignore, OWNERS.md, README.md, Tools/ and assets/. If you see only those, the clone succeeded and you are looking at the whole repository.

From there, the practical move is to open README.md and search the catalog for your course. Suppose you are taking the Gemini CLI short course. The README's row for it links to a separate repository, https-deeplearning-ai/sc-gemini-cli-files. That is where the notebooks are, and that repository's own README carries the setup steps. The README here is explicit about that handoff, so do not expect a requirements file or a virtualenv recipe at this level.

If you only want the tools, look inside Tools/. The README names Tools/Chroma/database-viewer as a concrete example of the grouping, and says more are coming. Setup for anything under Tools/ is not described in the README, so read the files in the specific tool's directory before assuming how it runs.

Where this repository is the wrong thing to open

The clearest failure mode is treating it as the course. The README states that course videos, instruction and course labs live on deeplearning.ai, not in the repository. Nothing here will run a lesson for you, and no notebook from a short course is checked in at the top level.

The second is version drift. Each course's companion repository has its own commit history and its own README. This index links to them; it does not pin them. If a course repository is renamed, archived, or restructured, the link in this catalog is the only thing connecting you to it, and the README does not describe an automated check that keeps those links current. The last push to this repository was on 2026-06-12, so a course published after that date may not appear in the catalog at all.

The third is licensing. The repository's license is not identified in the repository metadata, and the README does not state one. Each course repository may carry its own terms, and the course content itself lives on a separate commercial platform. If you intend to reuse code in a product, the absence of a stated license at this level is something to resolve by reading the individual companion repository, not by assuming the parent repository's terms cover it.

Finally, the README says the catalog is not exhaustive. If your course is missing from the table, that is expected behaviour rather than a bug, and the README points you to the full catalog on deeplearning.ai instead.

How it compares with a course-monorepo layout

The obvious alternative design would be a single monorepo holding every course's notebooks, with a folder per course. Many university courses and internal training programs do exactly that, and it has real advantages: one clone, one issue tracker, one place to search, and a shared environment file that works across courses.

DeepLearning.AI went the other way, and the README makes the reason legible without stating it outright. Courses are built with outside partners, and the partner list in the README names Anthropic, NVIDIA, Google and LandingAI. A companion repository per course lets each one carry its own dependencies, its own partner-specific setup, and its own release cadence, without forcing every other course to absorb a change. The cost is exactly what a user feels: no single clone gives you everything, and setup instructions are scattered across as many READMEs as there are courses.

A second alternative is documentation-only, with no repository at all: put the links on the course pages and skip GitHub. That would remove the catalog table, the assets, and the Tools/ folder. The team clearly wanted a GitHub-native index, which makes the catalog forkable and linkable, and gives the Tools/ cookbooks a home that is not tied to a single course.

Neither alternative is wrong. The choice here trades convenience of acquisition for independence of the course repositories, and the README's repeated instruction to follow each course repo's own README is the honest consequence of that trade.

Maintenance, upgrade cost and licensing

Maintenance activity is visible only through the push history: the last push was on 2026-06-12. There are no releases retrieved for the repository, which fits a project that ships markdown and links rather than versioned artifacts. There is no changelog in the repository, and the README does not document a deprecation policy for the catalog entries.

Upgrade cost is close to zero for the parts you use. Pulling the latest changes refreshes a README and some images; nothing compiles, and nothing breaks because a dependency moved. The real cost sits in the linked repositories, each of which has its own dependency story and its own upgrade path. If a course companion repository changes its environment, this index will not warn you.

On licensing, the repository metadata does not identify a license, and the README does not state one. Course content on deeplearning.ai is a separate commercial offering with its own terms. If you plan to redistribute or build on any code you find through the catalog, check the license of the specific companion repository you pull from rather than assuming it inherits anything from this index. That is a factual gap, not a legal conclusion.

Editorial conclusion

Clone it if you already know which DeepLearning.AI course you are taking and want to find that course's companion repository without hunting through GitHub. Do not clone it expecting runnable course notebooks, a syllabus, or a local copy of the course platform: the README states that course videos, instruction and labs live on deeplearning.ai, and that course code lives in separate repositories, one per course. Before you spend time on the clone, open README.md and the Tools/ directory listing and confirm the course you care about has a GitHub link in the catalog table. The last push to this repository was on 2026-06-12, so anything added after that date will not be present in your copy.

Frequently asked questions

What does DeepLearning.AI do, and what is the https-deeplearning-ai/deeplearning-ai repository?

The README describes DeepLearning.AI as an educational technology company founded by Andrew Ng that offers short courses, long courses and specializations, professional certificates, and a weekly newsletter called The Batch. The repository itself is a directory: it links to the separate companion code repositories for those courses, and hosts a Tools/ folder for cookbooks and tools.

Are the DeepLearning.AI courses free, and does this repository include them?

The README does not state pricing for any course, and it does not host the courses. It says course videos, instruction and course labs live on deeplearning.ai, while the notebooks, labs and starter projects live in one companion GitHub repository per course. The README also notes that the catalog table is not an exhaustive list of courses.

What is DeepLearning.AI Skill Builder, mentioned in the https-deeplearning-ai/deeplearning-ai README?

The README links to Skill Builder at skillbuilder.deeplearning.ai for learners who are not sure which course to start with, describing it as a way to chat with a virtual Andrew Ng to see where your skills are and where to go next. No further detail about it appears in the README.

Is DeepLearning.AI credible, and is a DeepLearning.AI course good?

The README does not make quality claims and offers no reviews or ratings. It states only that DeepLearning.AI was founded by Andrew Ng and that its courses are built with industry partners including Anthropic, NVIDIA, Google and LandingAI. Judging course quality is outside what the repository documents.

What is deeplearning.ai Pro, and does the https-deeplearning-ai/deeplearning-ai repository cover it?

The README does not mention a Pro tier at all. It describes short courses, long courses and specializations, professional certificates such as the PyTorch Professional Certificate, and The Batch newsletter. Anything about a Pro offering would have to come from deeplearning.ai, not this repository.

Official sources

  1. https-deeplearning-ai/deeplearning-ai on GitHub
  2. Issues
  3. README
Add this badge to your README

If you maintain this project, the badge below links readers to this analysis and shows its maintenance status from the daily GitHub snapshot. Paste the markdown into your README; add ?metric=license or ?metric=stars to the image URL for a different field.

Add this badge to your README

markdown
[![Hysen Labs](https://hysenlabs.com/badge/https-deeplearning-ai-deeplearning-ai.svg)](https://hysenlabs.com/projects/https-deeplearning-ai-deeplearning-ai)