OpenProject: the self-hosted Jira alternative, and what it actually costs to run
OpenProject is the leading open source project management software for product, project and portfolio management. A powerful Jira alternative with agile planning, issue tracking, roadmaps, Gantt charts, time tracking, collaboration features, and more. Available on premises or in the cloud. ⭐ Star us on GitHub
At a glance
- What is it?
- OpenProject is a GPL-3.0, Ruby-based project management platform for teams that need to keep their data on their own infrastructure. This review covers what the repository shows about the architecture, how to get a first instance running, and where the Community edition stops.
- Who is it for?
- Adopt OpenProject if you need work packages, Gantt scheduling and agile boards on infrastructure you control, and you accept running a Rails application with Postgres and Memcached behind it. Do not adopt it if you want a hosted tool with no operational surface, or if your team will not maintain a server.
- Can I use it commercially?
- Yes, with conditions. GPL-3.0 is a copyleft licence: if you distribute software that includes it, you must release that software's source code under the same licence. Running it internally without distributing it does not trigger that obligation.
- Is it still maintained?
- Yes. The repository last received commits 7 days ago.
- What is it written in?
- Mainly Ruby, according to GitHub's language statistics.
Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on September 22, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.
DEEP OPEN-SOURCE ANALYSIS
What OpenProject solves, and for whom
OpenProject is a web application for managing projects, portfolios and products in one place. The README frames the target audience explicitly: teams and organizations that need transparency, flexibility and data sovereignty, and it positions the product against Jira, MS Project, Monday, Asana and YouTrack. The distinguishing claim is not a feature list. It is that the software can be self-hosted, so the project data, the user accounts and the attachments stay on infrastructure the organization controls.
That matters most in two situations. The first is a regulated environment where the tool holding the ticket history is itself in scope for an audit. The second is an organization that has already decided it will not put its roadmap in someone else's multi-tenant database. For both, the relevant question is not whether OpenProject has boards and Gantt charts, which it does, but whether the operational burden of running it is smaller than the compliance burden of not running it.
The README lists the functional surface: project and portfolio management, agile boards covering Kanban, Scrum and SAFe, Gantt-based scheduling, product and release planning, task management, time tracking with cost reporting and budgeting, bug tracking, wikis, forums, news, and meeting agendas and minutes. Integrations named in the README include Nextcloud, XWiki, GitHub and GitLab. The repository topics also mention BCF and IFC, which points at BIM workflows, though the README itself does not describe them.
The architecture visible in the repository
OpenProject is a Ruby on Rails application with an Angular frontend, and the repository layout reflects that split. The top level carries Gemfile, Gemfile.lock, Gemfile.modules, Rakefile and config.ru for the backend, and a separate frontend/ directory with its own npm workspace. The root package.json is a thin wrapper: its postinstall script runs npm install inside frontend/, and its serve script delegates to the frontend build. The root package.json also pins engines to Node ^24.15.0 and npm ^11.0.0, so the JavaScript toolchain has a hard floor.
Runtime dependencies are visible in docker-compose.yml. The backend service receives DATABASE_URL pointing at Postgres, an OPENPROJECT_CACHE__MEMCACHE__SERVER value of cache:11211, and OPENPROJECT_RAILS__CACHE__STORE set to file_store. There is a separate frontend service built from docker/dev/frontend/Dockerfile, and collaborative editing is configured through OPENPROJECT_COLLABORATIVE__EDITING__HOCUSPOCUS__URL. So a working deployment is not a single process. It is Rails, a database, a cache, a Node-built frontend and a Hocuspocus service for real-time editing.
The configuration model is environment variables with a double-underscore convention standing in for nested keys, which is why the cache server appears as OPENPROJECT_CACHE__MEMCACHE__SERVER. The repository ships .env.example and .env.test.local.example as starting points. The .env.example file documents HOST and PORT defaults of localhost and 3000 for the backend, and FE_HOST and FE_PORT of localhost and 4200 for the frontend. Extensions live in extensions/, and the Gemfile.modules file suggests the codebase is assembled from modules rather than being a single monolith.
Installing it: which path the project actually points to
The README does not contain installation commands. It directs readers to the download and installation guides at https://www.openproject.org/download-and-installation/ and describes the Community edition as the self-hosted, free-of-charge option, with a separate 14-day free trial for the hosted product. Anyone following a tutorial that begins with docker compose up against this repository needs to read the compose file carefully first, because it now contains a guard.
The backend service in docker-compose.yml sets LOCAL_DEV_CHECK to a value whose fallback text reads: The docker-compose file for OpenProject has moved to https://github.com/opf/openproject-docker-compose. That is a deliberate stop sign. The compose file in this repository is for developing OpenProject itself, not for deploying it.
environment:
DATABASE_URL: postgresql://${DB_USERNAME:-postgres}:${DB_PASSWORD:-postgres}@${DB_HOST:-db}:${DB_PORT:-5432}/${DB_DATABASE:-openproject}?pool=100
LOCAL_DEV_CHECK: "${LOCAL_DEV_CHECK:?The docker-compose file for OpenProject has moved to https://github.com/opf/openproject-docker-compose}"
OPENPROJECT_CACHE__MEMCACHE__SERVER: cache:11211
OPENPROJECT_EDITION: ${OPENPROJECT_EDITION:-standard}For a production instance, the project's own pointer is the openproject-docker-compose repository. If you want to work on OpenProject itself, the development path uses the checked-in compose stack and the environment files. Copy .env.example to .env, then bring the stack up from the repository root.
cp .env.example .env
docker compose up -dThe .env.example comments state that placing a .env file in the root overrides defaults that overmind uses to start OpenProject, and it sets LOCAL_DEV_CHECK=1 to prevent automated installs from using the development compose file. The backend listens on port 3000 and the frontend on port 4200 by default, so after the containers report healthy you would reach the application on the backend port. The README does not document the first-login or admin-account flow, so treat that as something to confirm against the official installation guide rather than guesswork.
Where the Community edition stops and Enterprise begins
The README separates the offerings cleanly: a free Community edition you download and self-host, an Enterprise edition available as cloud or on-premises with support and what the README calls Enterprise add-ons, and a 14-day trial of the hosted product. It never enumerates which features sit behind the Enterprise boundary. That omission is the single biggest practical risk in evaluating OpenProject, because the README's feature list reads as one undivided set.
The consequence is concrete. A team that reads the feature list, plans a rollout around budgeting or portfolio-level reporting, and only then discovers those capabilities require a paid edition has lost the evaluation cycle. The README also does not state how the Enterprise edition is licensed, how on-premises Enterprise keys are issued, or whether the Community edition has user limits. Those questions are answerable, but not from this repository. They belong to the pricing and edition documentation on the project site, and they should be resolved before a pilot starts, not after.
There is a second boundary worth naming. The README describes OpenProject as trusted by enterprises, public institutions and highly regulated industries. That is a positioning statement, not evidence, and the repository does not carry a compliance certification document. If your adoption depends on a specific certification, the source for that is the project's security and privacy documentation, not the README.
Self-hosting is a commitment, not a checkbox
The case where OpenProject is the wrong tool is a small team that wants project management without owning a server. Running it means operating Rails, Postgres, Memcached, a Node-built frontend and the Hocuspocus service, then handling backups, TLS termination and upgrades. The compose file's external gateway network, described in its comments as managed by a TLS proxy stack with traefik and step, hints at the shape of a real deployment: OpenProject sits behind a reverse proxy you also have to run. The comments note that this is a first step toward TLS-by-default for development and that backend and frontend will follow, which tells you the checked-in stack is not the finished production story.
Upgrade cadence is the other cost. Recent releases show v17.8.0 on 2026-09-02, v17.7.2 on 2026-08-13 and v17.7.1 on 2026-08-06, so minor and patch releases arrive on a tight schedule. The last push to the dev branch was on 2026-09-21. That is a fast-moving project, and fast-moving Rails applications carry migrations. The repository contains a db/ directory and a CHANGELOG.md, but the README does not document a rollback procedure. Anyone self-hosting needs a tested database backup and restore path before the first upgrade, not after.
There is also a licensing dimension. OpenProject is GPL-3.0. If you run it as an internal tool, the licence is unlikely to change your obligations in any way that matters. If you intend to distribute a modified version, or to embed it in a product you ship, the copyleft terms apply to what you distribute, and the Enterprise edition is a separate commercial arrangement. That is a question for your own counsel; the repository's LICENSE and COPYRIGHT files are the authoritative text.
How it compares to Jira and to lighter trackers
The README names Jira directly, and the comparison is the one most evaluators will make. The difference is not the feature list, which overlaps heavily: both cover work items, agile boards, backlog planning and reporting. The difference is where the data lives and who operates the service. Jira's cloud offering removes the server from your plate and puts the data in Atlassian's tenancy. OpenProject's Community edition does the opposite, and the cost of that trade is the operational work described above.
Against lighter self-hosted trackers, the split is scope. A minimal issue tracker gives you issues, labels and a board, and you can run it on a single small process. OpenProject gives you work packages that carry budgets, time entries and cost reports, Gantt scheduling with dependencies, portfolio-level views and a wiki, all in one schema. That integration is the reason to pick it over assembling three tools, and it is also why the deployment is heavier. If your team only needs a board and a bug list, the extra machinery is overhead you will pay for monthly.
The integration list is a third axis. The README names Nextcloud, XWiki, GitHub and GitLab, and the repository topics mention BCF and IFC. Teams already standardized on one of those ecosystems have a reason to look here that a generic tracker comparison will not surface.
Frequently asked questions
The questions below cover what a new evaluator tends to ask first. Answers are limited to what the README, the repository files and the release list actually state.
Editorial conclusion
Adopt OpenProject if you need work packages, Gantt scheduling and agile boards on infrastructure you control, and you accept running a Rails application with Postgres and Memcached behind it. Do not adopt it if you want a hosted tool with no operational surface, or if your team will not maintain a server. Before committing, verify three things: that the feature you need is in the Community edition rather than an Enterprise add-on, that your chosen install path is the one the project currently points to (the repository's own docker-compose.yml now redirects to https://github.com/opf/openproject-docker-compose), and that you can perform an in-place upgrade across a minor version without data loss.
Frequently asked questions
Is OpenProject free to use?
The README describes a Community edition that is free of charge and self-hosted, alongside an Enterprise edition with support and Enterprise add-ons, and a separate 14-day free trial of the hosted product. The README does not state which features are exclusive to Enterprise.
What does OpenProject do?
It is web-based project management software covering project and portfolio management, agile boards for Kanban, Scrum and SAFe, Gantt-based scheduling, product and release planning, task management, time tracking with cost reporting, bug tracking, wikis, forums, news, and meeting agendas and minutes.
Is OpenProject like Jira?
The README positions OpenProject as an open source alternative to Jira, MS Project, Monday, Asana and YouTrack, aimed at organizations that want to keep control of their data and infrastructure. The overlap is in work items and agile planning; the difference is that OpenProject's Community edition is self-hosted.
Can OpenProject be self-hosted?
Yes. The README describes the Community edition as self-hosted and free of charge, and the Enterprise edition as available on premises as well as in the cloud. The README directs production and evaluation installs to the installation guides on the project site.
How do I install OpenProject with Docker?
The docker-compose.yml in this repository is for development and now guards itself: the LOCAL_DEV_CHECK variable carries a message stating the compose file has moved to https://github.com/opf/openproject-docker-compose. For a deployment, that repository is the project's own pointer. The README itself gives no Docker commands and refers readers to the installation guides.
How do I access OpenProject after installing it?
The .env.example file sets the backend host and port to localhost and 3000, and the frontend to localhost and 4200, so a local development instance is reached on the backend port. The README does not document the first-login or administrator account flow, so that step has to come from the official installation guide.
Official sources
Add this badge to your README
If you maintain this project, the badge below links readers to this analysis and shows its maintenance status from the daily GitHub snapshot. Paste the markdown into your README; add ?metric=license or ?metric=stars to the image URL for a different field.
[](https://hysenlabs.com/projects/opf-openproject)
Community notes