LaunchOS: a Launchpad replacement for macOS 26 and macOS 27
LaunchOS – Launchpad alternative for macOS, designed for speed, simplicity, and full control
At a glance
- What is it?
- LaunchOS is a closed-source launcher that restores the classic Launchpad grid on macOS 26 and macOS 27, with a free Basic tier and a paid Pro tier. The repository is a product page and issue tracker, not the application source.
- Who is it for?
- Adopt LaunchOS if you miss the Launchpad grid on macOS 26 or macOS 27 and want the layout you already have imported rather than rebuilt by hand; the Basic plan covers launching and layout import, while gestures, hot corners, the F4 key, custom grid sizes and app hiding sit behind Pro.
- Can I use it commercially?
- Not without permission. GitHub finds no licence file in the repository, and without a licence all rights are reserved by default: you may read the code but not reuse it. Check the README, or ask the authors, before using it.
- Is it still maintained?
- Yes. The repository last received commits 7 days ago.
- What is it written in?
- Mainly JavaScript, according to GitHub's language statistics.
Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on September 30, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.
Editorial analysis
What LaunchOS replaces, and for whom
Apple's Launchpad is the full-screen grid of installed applications that macOS has shipped for years. LaunchOS exists because that grid is being removed or changed on macOS 26 and macOS 27, and some users want it back in roughly its old form. The README frames the goal as preserving "the native Launchpad feel and muscle memory" while adding improvements Apple never offered. The target user is therefore narrow and specific: someone already on macOS 26 or macOS 27 who reached for Launchpad out of habit and found it gone, changed, or unsatisfying. It is not a dock replacement, not a window switcher, and not a general productivity launcher for people who never used Launchpad. If you launch apps from Spotlight, Alfred or the Dock and never missed the grid, this product solves a problem you do not have. The README also states plainly that LaunchOS is not an open-source product and is not built on existing open-source launcher projects, so anyone arriving from the repository expecting to read or build the code will be disappointed.
How LaunchOS works: AppKit, layout import, and the Basic/Pro split
The most concrete technical statement in the README is about version 2: it was rebuilt from the ground up and migrated from SwiftUI to AppKit. That is a real architectural change, not marketing language, and it explains the claims that follow it, namely improved first-launch speed after startup, runtime performance and animations, plus native support for 120Hz and higher refresh rate displays. SwiftUI on macOS has historically been the slower path for a full-screen grid of icons that must appear instantly and animate at display refresh rate, so moving the rendering and event handling into AppKit is the plausible mechanism behind the responsiveness claims. The feature table divides the product in two. The Basic column covers the native Launchpad experience, Liquid Glass styling, native rendering, 120Hz support, importing the native Launchpad layout, a right-click menu, a global hotkey, and dragging apps to the Dock. Everything else carries a PRO tag: trackpad gesture launch, hot corners, the F4 key, customizable grid layout, vertical scroll view, custom app renaming, custom app sources, hiding unwanted apps, complete uninstall, window browsing mode, and layout reorganization. Note the shape of that split. The basic act of showing your apps and keeping your existing arrangement is free. Almost every control over how that grid looks and behaves is paid.
Installing LaunchOS and using it for the first time
There is no source build here. The repository contains only README files in four languages, an assets directory, a scripts directory and a .github directory, so the application is obtained from the project's own site rather than from this repository. The README links to launchosapp.com for the product and to launchosapp.com/release.en for releases, and the version banner in the README reads v2.3.0 dated Aug 21, 2026. The README describes a "small installer" but does not document a command-line install, a Homebrew cask, or any package manager formula, so do not expect one. Once installed, the first useful action is the one that saves the most work: importing your existing Launchpad layout, which the feature table lists as available on the Basic plan. That means you do not rebuild pages and folders by hand. The second action is binding a way to summon the grid, since Launchpad's own trigger may no longer exist on your system. A global hotkey is listed as a Basic feature, so it is available without paying; the F4 key, trackpad gesture and hot corner triggers are all marked PRO. The README gives no example configuration file, no preference key names and no command-line flags, so any setup beyond the app's own interface is undocumented. If you want to evaluate it before paying, the FAQ states there is a 7-day free trial on the Pro plan.
The licensing model, and what the repository does not tell you
The README does not carry a licence identifier, and it states that LaunchOS is not an open-source product. That combination matters more than it might seem. There is no licence file to read, no source to audit, and no way to fork the project if development stops. What the README does commit to is generous on the upgrade side: all purchases include lifetime free upgrades to future major versions, and moving to a new device does not require repurchasing. Device management lives under Settings > About > Device Management, and the FAQ says you can remove the old device during activation instead. The licence itself is a code you paste into the app, and the FAQ addresses the two common failure modes directly: a licence reported as invalid is usually caused by copying extra spaces or line breaks, and the recommended fix is pasting into a plain text editor first and copying again from there. Purchase delivery is two emails, a receipt and a licence, with the licence sometimes arriving late or landing in spam. These are ordinary details for paid macOS software, and the README is unusually direct about them. What it does not state is a refund policy, a minimum supported macOS build beyond the 26 and 27 references, or what happens to Pro features if activation servers become unreachable. Treat those as open questions rather than solved ones.
Where LaunchOS is the wrong choice, and what it competes with
The clearest limitation is structural: the application is closed source and this repository is, in the README's own words, "only used for product introduction and collecting Issues." If your organisation requires reviewing binaries or building from source before deployment, LaunchOS fails that bar before any feature comparison begins. A second limitation is the tier boundary. Customizable grid layout, vertical scroll view and hiding unwanted apps are all PRO features, which means the free plan gives you the classic grid and little control over it. Users who want a differently sized or differently arranged grid are not served by Basic. The natural alternative is not another launcher but the system itself: macOS 26 and macOS 27 ship a search-based way to open applications, and Spotlight has always launched apps without a grid. The difference in approach is fundamental. Spotlight is a query interface, so you type part of a name and press Return; Launchpad and LaunchOS are a spatial interface, so you learn where an icon lives and click it. People who think in names are better served by Spotlight, and people who think in positions are the ones LaunchOS is built for. A second alternative is simply staying on an older macOS release that still has the Launchpad you like, which costs nothing and requires no licence, though it forgoes the newer system.
Maintenance, releases and the cost of upgrading
The README's version banner records v2.3.0 dated Aug 21, 2026, and the repository's description says it is designed for macOS 26 and macOS 27, so the project is tracking current and upcoming system releases rather than older ones. The repository itself is not archived. Beyond that, the repository gives no last-push date, no release history and no changelog, so there is no basis for judging how frequently builds ship or how quickly a macOS point release gets addressed. What can be said is that the upgrade cost is unusually low by commercial software standards: the FAQ states that all purchases include lifetime free upgrades to future major versions, so a version 3 release would not require a second payment. The maintenance risk sits elsewhere. Because there is no source and no licence file, the continuity of the product depends entirely on the vendor, and the README gives no roadmap beyond a feature tile labelled "Rapid Iteration Ahead" with the note "BASED ON YOUR FEEDBACK." That is a statement of intent, not a commitment with dates. The practical upgrade question is therefore not price but whether a future macOS release breaks the launcher and how long a fix takes, and the README does not answer it.
Editorial conclusion
Adopt LaunchOS if you miss the Launchpad grid on macOS 26 or macOS 27 and want the layout you already have imported rather than rebuilt by hand; the Basic plan covers launching and layout import, while gestures, hot corners, the F4 key, custom grid sizes and app hiding sit behind Pro. Do not adopt it if you need an auditable or open-source launcher, since the README states the product is not open source and this repository is only for product introduction and issue collection, which also means no source, no build instructions and no licence file are available to review. Before paying, verify three things yourself: which features your workflow actually needs are marked PRO in the feature table, whether the 7-day trial covers them, and whether the licence email arrives, since the FAQ describes it as arriving a few minutes after the receipt and sometimes landing in spam. Device moves and future major versions are covered by the same purchase according to the FAQ, so the remaining unknown is not the upgrade path but the refund and support terms, which the README does not state.
Frequently asked questions
Is LaunchOS free?
LaunchOS has a free Basic plan and a paid Pro plan, and the README says the Basic plan is enough for many users' daily use. Pro adds a 7-day free trial. Features such as trackpad gestures, hot corners, the F4 key, customizable grid layout, hiding apps and complete uninstall are marked PRO.
Is LaunchOS safe?
The README does not make a security claim, and it states that LaunchOS is not open source and that this repository is only for product introduction and collecting Issues, so there is no source code here to inspect. The only safety-relevant detail given is that activation uses a licence code you paste into the app, and the FAQ warns against copying extra spaces or line breaks with it.
What is LaunchOS?
LaunchOS is a Launchpad replacement rebuilt for macOS 26 and macOS 27, distributed through a small installer. It aims to preserve the native Launchpad feel and muscle memory while adding features the original did not have, and version 2 was rebuilt from SwiftUI to AppKit for better performance and 120Hz support.
Is there an alternative to LaunchOS?
The README does not discuss alternatives. The nearest thing already on the machine is macOS's own search-based app launching, which differs in approach: you type a name rather than clicking a remembered position in a grid. Staying on an older macOS release that still has Launchpad is the other option the README implies.
Is the LaunchOS app safe?
The README states that LaunchOS is not an open-source product and that the repository is only used for product introduction and collecting Issues, so the application binary itself is not published here for inspection. It also notes that the licence is a code pasted into the app, and that stray spaces or line breaks are the usual cause of an invalid licence message.
What is a Launchpad used for?
Launchpad is the full-screen grid of installed applications on macOS, and LaunchOS recreates that grid on macOS 26 and macOS 27. It is a spatial way to open apps: you learn where an icon sits and click it, rather than typing part of a name as you would in Spotlight.
Official sources
Add this badge to your README
If you maintain this project, the badge below links readers to this analysis and shows its maintenance status from the daily GitHub snapshot. Paste the markdown into your README; add ?metric=license or ?metric=stars to the image URL for a different field.
[](https://hysenlabs.com/projects/remix-design-launchos)