MeiGen AI Design MCP: an MCP server that gives coding agents image and video generation
Supports GPT Image 2, Seedance & ComfyUI, with a 1,400+ prompt library, carefully crafted hooks and a multi-task orchestration system
At a glance
- What is it?
- MeiGen AI Design MCP wraps cloud image and video models, a local ComfyUI backend and a 1,446-prompt library behind nine MCP tools, so Claude Code, Cursor or Codex can generate media without leaving the editor. The npm package is the interesting half; the hosted endpoint is the easy half.
- Who is it for?
- Adopt it if you already work inside an MCP host and want image or video generation as a tool call rather than a browser tab, and if you are willing to hold an API key for a cloud provider or run ComfyUI locally. Skip it if you need a fully offline, zero-account setup, if you want a fixed per-image price you can predict, or if you are not using an MCP-capable client at all.
- Can I use it commercially?
- Yes. MIT is a permissive licence: you can use, modify and sell software built on it, as long as you keep its copyright and licence notices.
- Is it still maintained?
- Yes. The repository last received commits 4 days ago.
- What is it written in?
- Mainly TypeScript, according to GitHub's language statistics.
Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on September 26, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.
Editorial analysis
What MeiGen AI Design MCP does that a chat window cannot
The project is an MCP server, which means it exposes tools to an AI coding host rather than shipping its own interface. The README describes nine tools plus a prompt library, and the intended use is that you ask your agent for a logo, a product shot or an animated still, and the agent calls the server instead of you opening a separate image tool.
The audience is narrow and specific: people already running Claude Code, Cursor, Codex, Windsurf, Roo Code, OpenClaw, Hermes Agent or another MCP-compatible host. If you do not use one of those, the value proposition mostly disappears, because the command-line interface is described as a secondary mode for shell scripts and CI rather than the main product.
The prompt library is the part that is not just plumbing. The README states it ships 1,446 curated templates sourced from the nanobanana-trending-prompts repository, with style-aware prompt enhancement on top. That matters because the hard part of image generation is usually wording, not the API call. A server that turns "make me a perfume ad" into a structured prompt is doing real work; a server that only forwards your text is not.
Three backend modes and how a request actually flows
There are three backends, and picking one is the first decision you make. MeiGen cloud is the default path and the README says the model lineup is database-driven, readable through a list_models tool, so the available models change without a package update. The second mode is any OpenAI-compatible API where you supply the key and the endpoint. The third is local ComfyUI, described as offline and running on your own GPU.
The flow for a batch request is the design choice worth noting. The README describes parallel batch generation through sub-agents, explicitly to keep the main context clean. In practice that means the orchestration does not dump every intermediate prompt and response into your conversation; the sub-agent handles the fan-out and returns the result. The demo section shows this pattern with a request for four product display images, where the agent uploads a reference image, writes four distinct prompts and generates them in parallel.
That architecture has a cost. Sub-agent orchestration is harder to debug than a single synchronous call, and the README does not describe what happens when one branch of a parallel batch fails while the others succeed. If you need deterministic, step-by-step control over each generation, the batch path is the wrong entry point and you should call the individual generation tools instead.
Installing MeiGen AI Design MCP and running a first generation
The fastest path is the hosted remote endpoint, which the README calls zero-install. It is a stateless Streamable-HTTP MCP server, so there is no local process and no npm package. Adding it to Claude Code takes one command with a bearer token:
claude mcp add --transport http meigen https://www.meigen.ai/api/mcp \
--header "Authorization: Bearer meigen_sk_YOUR_TOKEN"The README states that read-only tools (search, model list, inspiration, generation status check) work without a token, so you can add the server and confirm it responds before you have credentials. After adding it, the tool list should include the search and model-listing tools even with no token configured.
If you want local file saving, offline prompt-library search, ComfyUI bridging or the CLI, the README directs you to the npm package instead. The Claude Code plugin route is:
/plugin marketplace add jau123/MeiGen-AI-Design-MCP
/plugin install meigen@meigen-marketplaceThe README says to restart Claude Code after installation, and that free features work immediately, so "Search for some creative inspiration" is a reasonable first test. Image generation needs the setup wizard:
/meigen:setupThe wizard asks you to choose a provider (local ComfyUI, MeiGen Cloud, or an OpenAI-compatible API), enter credentials, and then restart Claude Code once more. For other hosts, the README gives a single init command per tool, for example:
npx meigen init cursor
npx meigen init vscode
npx meigen init windsurfThe README states that this writes the correct MCP config file for the target tool and merges into an existing file rather than overwriting other servers. One caveat it raises directly: the wshobson/agents marketplace does not bundle MCP server config, so after installing from there you add a .mcp.json entry yourself with npx -y [email protected].
The remote endpoint and the npm package are not the same product
This is the most important distinction in the README and it is easy to miss. The remote endpoint returns media URLs. The npm package can save files locally, search the prompt library offline, bridge to ComfyUI and run as a CLI. Both share the same account and credits, but the capabilities differ.
So a pipeline that expects a file on disk after generation will not work the same way against the hosted endpoint. If your workflow is "generate an image, then reference it from a build script or a repository asset folder," you are on the npm path, not the zero-install path. The README frames the endpoint as the recommended starting point, which is fair for interactive use, but the recommendation is about setup effort, not about feature parity.
There is a second asymmetry. The README says the remote endpoint's tool descriptions are rendered from the production database and refreshed hourly, so model names, pricing and time estimates stay current without you updating anything. The npm package pins a version, and the README's own example config pins [email protected]. Pinning is good for reproducibility and bad for staying current, and the project does not document a migration path between the two beyond noting that they share an account.
Where it breaks down, and when to use something else
The clearest limitation is the dependency on an external service. Two of the three backends are remote: MeiGen cloud or an OpenAI-compatible endpoint. Only ComfyUI is described as offline. If your constraint is that no prompt, reference image or output may leave your machine, you are limited to the ComfyUI path, and that path requires you to already run ComfyUI and have a GPU. The README does not describe a bundled model or a CPU fallback.
Cost predictability is the second issue. The README mentions that the remote endpoint keeps pricing in sync with production, which tells you pricing exists and changes, but it does not state rates. Anyone budgeting per-image spend has to get that from the platform, not from this repository.
The third limitation is version pinning. The package.json declares version 1.4.0 and the README's manual config example pins that exact version. Nothing in the README describes an automated upgrade check, a changelog policy, or what breaks between minor versions. The recent releases show a Windows reference-image path fix in v1.3.2, which suggests platform-specific bugs do occur and are fixed in point releases rather than being absent.
As an alternative, consider calling the image API directly from a small script. If you generate one image per day with a fixed prompt shape, an MCP server, a prompt library and sub-agent orchestration are overhead, and a direct HTTP call to your provider is fewer moving parts. The difference in approach is real: MeiGen assumes many varied generations driven by an agent that writes the prompts, and it invests in prompt curation and parallelism to make that pleasant. For a single fixed template, that investment does not pay back.
Maintenance, versioning and the MIT licence
The repository is not archived and the last push was on 2026-08-05, which is the same day v1.4.0 was released. That is roughly six weeks before the date of writing, so the project is being touched, though the README does not describe a release cadence beyond the three visible releases: v1.3.2 in May 2026, v1.3.3 in June 2026 and v1.4.0 in August 2026. That spacing suggests point releases every one to two months rather than a continuous stream.
The upgrade surface is small. The package has three runtime dependencies: @modelcontextprotocol/sdk, sharp and zod, and it requires Node 18 or later per the engines field. A Dockerfile is present and builds from node:20-slim in two stages, copying dist, data, node_modules and bin into a runtime image with node bin/meigen-mcp.js as the entrypoint. If you deploy the server yourself rather than using the remote endpoint, that Dockerfile is the documented container path, and it pins Node 20 regardless of the engines floor.
On licensing: the repository is MIT, and the prompt library is credited to a separate repository, nanobanana-trending-prompts. The README does not state the licence of that prompt repository, so if you plan to redistribute the prompt templates rather than use them through the server, check that repository's licence separately. This is a description of what the files say, not legal advice; for anything commercial, read both licences yourself.
Editorial conclusion
Adopt it if you already work inside an MCP host and want image or video generation as a tool call rather than a browser tab, and if you are willing to hold an API key for a cloud provider or run ComfyUI locally. Skip it if you need a fully offline, zero-account setup, if you want a fixed per-image price you can predict, or if you are not using an MCP-capable client at all. Before committing, verify three things yourself: which backend mode you will actually use, whether your host is a Streamable-HTTP client or needs the npm package, and whether the generated media is saved to local files or only returned as URLs, since the README ties automatic local saving to the npm path rather than the remote endpoint.
Frequently asked questions
Can I use MeiGen AI Design MCP for free?
The README states that read-only tools (search, model list, inspiration, generation status check) work on the remote endpoint without a token, and that free features work immediately after installing the Claude Code plugin. Image generation is not in that free set: it requires the setup wizard and credentials for one of the three backends.
Do I need to install anything to use the MeiGen AI Design MCP server?
No, if you only need generation and can accept media URLs. The README describes the hosted remote endpoint as zero-install, added with a single claude mcp add command. You do need the npm package if you want automatic local file saving, offline prompt-library search, ComfyUI bridging or the CLI.
Which AI coding tools does MeiGen AI Design MCP work with?
The README lists Claude Code, Cursor, Codex, Windsurf, Roo Code, OpenClaw, Hermes Agent and any MCP-compatible host. For Cursor, VS Code, Windsurf and Roo Code, a single npx meigen init command writes the MCP config file for that tool.
Can MeiGen AI Design MCP run fully offline?
Only through the local ComfyUI backend, which the README describes as offline and running on your own GPU. The other two modes, MeiGen cloud and any OpenAI-compatible API, send requests to a remote service. The README does not document a bundled model or a CPU fallback.
Official sources
Add this badge to your README
If you maintain this project, the badge below links readers to this analysis and shows its maintenance status from the daily GitHub snapshot. Paste the markdown into your README; add ?metric=license or ?metric=stars to the image URL for a different field.
[](https://hysenlabs.com/projects/jau123-meigen-ai-design-mcp)