Self-hosted service
Bytez-com/docs avatar
Bytez-com/docs

Bytez-com/docs: the documentation repository behind a one-key serverless model API

1 API key. 220,000+ AI models. Bytez is the largest serverless Model Inference API on the internet. Let's build ✨

3,182 stars23 forksTypeScriptLicense varies

At a glance

What is it?
Bytez-com/docs is a TypeScript documentation repository for Bytez, a serverless model inference platform that advertises one API key across a large model catalogue. It is a docs repo, not the SDK, and the README is the main thing it hands you.
Who is it for?
Adopt it if you want to evaluate Bytez as a single-key serverless inference layer and you are comfortable following the README out to docs.bytez.com, the Model Hub and the npm package bytez.js rather than staying inside this repository. Do not adopt it if you need install steps, a licence statement or an SDK source tree inside the repo itself, because none of those are present here.
Can I use it commercially?
Not without permission. GitHub finds no licence file in the repository, and without a licence all rights are reserved by default: you may read the code but not reuse it. Check the README, or ask the authors, before using it.
Is it still maintained?
Activity is slowing. The repository last received commits 7 months ago.
What is it written in?
Mainly TypeScript, according to GitHub's language statistics.

Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on September 25, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.

Editorial analysis

What Bytez-com/docs actually is, and who it is for

This repository is the documentation side of Bytez, not the product. The README describes Bytez as a platform for interactive papers and serverless models, reachable through a model API with a unified protocol and an agent grounded in that same corpus. The repository itself holds a README, an about.md, a docs/ directory and an sdk/ directory, plus editor and GitHub configuration folders. Nothing in the listing suggests a runnable service.

The audience follows from that. If you are an engineer deciding whether to route inference through Bytez, this repo is where you start reading and where you will quickly be redirected. The README points outward at four places: the platform at bytez.com, the Model Hub, the API docs at docs.bytez.com, and DockerHub images published under the bytez organisation. The npm badge in the README points at bytez.js, which is where the client-side story lives.

That split is the first thing to understand about the project. The repository is a signpost. The substance is on the other side of the links, and anyone who clones this expecting an SDK or a self-hosted server will be disappointed within a minute.

The unified protocol claim and what the README does not specify

The central technical claim is a single API key and a unified protocol across a large model catalogue. The README frames this as no infrastructure and no orchestration, and the API docs link promises demo, deploy and streamed responses in three lines of code. The topics list on the repository names api, serverless, llms and multimodal, which is consistent with a hosted inference layer rather than a library you run.

What the README does not give you is the protocol itself. There is no endpoint table here, no request or response schema, no list of supported parameters, and no description of how streaming is framed. The repository has a docs/ directory, but the README does not describe its contents, so a reader cannot tell from this page alone whether docs/ mirrors the hosted documentation or holds something narrower. The sdk/ directory is likewise unnamed in the README.

The practical consequence is that the architecture you can verify is thin. Requests go from your code through a client such as bytez.js to a hosted endpoint, which selects and runs a model serverlessly and returns a result, possibly streamed. Everything between those two points, including routing, cold start behaviour, rate limits and error shapes, is documented elsewhere or not documented in this repository at all.

Installing the client and making a first call

The repository does not carry install instructions for the API client. The README's npm badge links to the bytez.js package, and the API docs link is where the README says the three-line example lives. So the honest starting point is the package page and docs.bytez.com, not this repo.

What the README does establish is the shape of a first use: one key, a model identifier, and a call that returns or streams a response. The README does not show the install command, the environment variable name or the constructor signature, so there is no code block to copy from this repository. Anything you write here has to come from docs.bytez.com or the bytez.js package page, and the README's own claim is that this fits in three lines.

A first use therefore looks like this in outline: install the client from npm, obtain a key from the Bytez platform, pick a model ID from the Model Hub, then call the model and read back the output. Each of those four steps is documented outside this repository. If the SDK rejects the key or the model name, the error will come from the hosted service, and this repository has nothing to say about it.

Treat that outline as a checklist rather than as instructions. Confirm the exact package name, the key variable and the call signature against docs.bytez.com before you wire anything into a build, because nothing in this repository can settle those details for you.

Where this repository stops being useful

The clearest limitation is that the repository does not stand alone. If docs.bytez.com is unavailable or its content lags the SDK, this repo offers no fallback: no protocol reference, no changelog, no migration notes, and no release history. The repository reports no releases at all, so there is no versioned documentation to pin against a specific SDK build.

Maintenance is also worth stating plainly. The last push to the default branch was on 2026-03-03. The repository is not archived, but that date is roughly six months before today, so it is not accurate to describe this as actively developed. For a docs repository attached to a fast-moving model catalogue, a six-month gap between pushes means the README's headline numbers and link set may not reflect the current platform.

A second boundary is the licence. The repository does not state one. That matters less for reading a README and more if you intend to reuse text, examples or anything under sdk/ or docs/ in your own product. Without a licence file, the default position is that no reuse rights are granted, and this repository gives you nothing to reason from beyond that.

Finally, this is the wrong tool if you want to run models on your own hardware with no external dependency. The README's own framing is the opposite: no infrastructure to manage, because the infrastructure is Bytez's. The DockerHub link is the nearest thing to a self-hosted path, and it is a separate surface, not this repository.

Hugging Face Inference Endpoints and the difference in approach

The obvious alternative for hosted model inference is Hugging Face. The comparison is not about which catalogue is larger, since neither number here is verifiable from this repository. It is about where the abstraction sits.

Hugging Face's model hub and inference offerings expose models as individual artifacts with their own pages, and its serverless inference has historically been tied to specific model endpoints rather than one key spanning everything. Bytez's pitch is the inverse: a single key and a unified protocol across the catalogue, so switching models is a parameter change rather than a new integration. That is a real convenience if you are prototyping across many models and a real loss of control if you need per-model configuration, custom hardware or a pinned runtime.

The README's DockerHub link is the interesting middle ground. It advertises running models locally, in your cloud, or in a customer's cloud using official images. That is closer to a self-hosted posture than a pure API, though the README does not explain how those images relate to the serverless API or whether the same model IDs apply. If portability matters more than catalogue breadth, that is the part of the Bytez offering to investigate first, and this repository will not answer it.

Maintenance, upgrade cost and the missing licence

Upgrade cost here is mostly editorial rather than technical. There is no package published from this repository, no versioned docs and no release feed, so there is nothing to upgrade in the usual sense. What changes is the README and whatever sits under docs/ and sdk/. Consumers of the API upgrade by moving to a new bytez.js version, and the repository offers no migration guidance for that.

The last push was on 2026-03-03. Between then and now the platform has presumably continued to add models, and the README's counts are the kind of figure that drifts. If you cite those numbers internally, date them.

On licensing, the repository states none. The README links to npm, DockerHub and the platform, each of which carries its own terms, and those terms govern the service regardless of what this repository says. Nothing here should be read as permission to redistribute the documentation or the contents of sdk/. If reuse matters to you, the absence of a licence file is the answer, not a gap to be filled by inference.

Editorial conclusion

Adopt it if you want to evaluate Bytez as a single-key serverless inference layer and you are comfortable following the README out to docs.bytez.com, the Model Hub and the npm package bytez.js rather than staying inside this repository. Do not adopt it if you need install steps, a licence statement or an SDK source tree inside the repo itself, because none of those are present here. Before committing, verify three things: whether the API docs at docs.bytez.com match the protocol you need, whether the DockerHub images under the bytez organisation cover your deployment target, and what terms apply to your use, since the repository ships no licence file.

Frequently asked questions

What kind of company is Bytez?

The README presents Bytez as a platform company rather than a library vendor: it offers a hosted model API with a unified protocol, an agent over a paper and model corpus, a model hub, an AI feed, and Docker images for running models locally or in your own cloud. It also runs a grant programme offering free inference credits.

What is the largest inference API available on the internet?

The README describes Bytez as a serverless model inference API reachable with one API key, and the repository description calls it the largest serverless model inference API. That is the project's own claim; this repository provides no independent measurement to confirm it.

Where do I get a Bytez API key?

The README does not give a key-issuing procedure inside this repository. It points to the Bytez platform at bytez.com and to the API docs at docs.bytez.com, which is where the one-key model and the client setup are described.

Does Bytez-com/docs contain the SDK source code?

The repository listing includes an sdk/ directory, but the README does not describe its contents or link to it. The client the README does point at is the bytez.js package on npm, which is published separately.

What licence does Bytez-com/docs use?

No licence is stated for this repository. The README links to npm, DockerHub and the Bytez platform, and those services carry their own terms, but the repository itself provides no licence file to rely on.

Official sources

  1. Bytez-com/docs on GitHub
  2. Issues
  3. Project website
  4. README
Add this badge to your README

If you maintain this project, the badge below links readers to this analysis and shows its maintenance status from the daily GitHub snapshot. Paste the markdown into your README; add ?metric=license or ?metric=stars to the image URL for a different field.

Add this badge to your README

markdown
[![Hysen Labs](https://hysenlabs.com/badge/bytez-com-docs.svg)](https://hysenlabs.com/projects/bytez-com-docs)