Model or dataset
slavingia/skills avatar
slavingia/skills

slavingia/skills: The Minimalist Entrepreneur as 10 Claude Code Commands

Based on The Minimalist Entrepreneur by Sahil Lavingia

10,826 stars1,092 forksUnknownLicense varies

At a glance

What is it?
A plugin marketplace entry that turns Sahil Lavingia's book into ten slash commands for Claude Code, from /find-community to /minimalist-review. It is a prompt pack, not software, and that shapes both what it does and what it cannot do.
Who is it for?
Adopt slavingia/skills if you already work inside Claude Code and want the book's sequence available as slash commands rather than as notes you have to reread. Skip it if you do not use Claude Code, if you need a tool that enforces anything, or if you want the underlying ideas without the book's framing.
Can I use it commercially?
Not without permission. GitHub finds no licence file in the repository, and without a licence all rights are reserved by default: you may read the code but not reuse it. Check the README, or ask the authors, before using it.
Is it still maintained?
Yes. The repository last received commits 169 days ago.
What is it written in?
GitHub does not report a main language for this repository.

Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on September 29, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.

Editorial analysis

What slavingia/skills actually is, and who it is for

This repository is not a library, a CLI or a service. It is a Claude Code plugin that registers ten skills, each exposed as a slash command, drawn from Sahil Lavingia's book The Minimalist Entrepreneur. The README describes the set as "Claude Code skills based on The Minimalist Entrepreneur" and lists a command for each stage of the book's progression.

The problem it addresses is a reading problem. A founder who has absorbed the book still has to recall which chapter applies to the decision in front of them. Here the decision becomes a command: /find-community when you are hunting for an idea, /validate-idea when you are testing one, /pricing when you are setting a number, /minimalist-review as a general gut check. The intended user is someone already working in Claude Code who wants the book's framing injected into the conversation at the point of the decision, rather than kept in a separate document.

It is worth being blunt about the category. Nothing here computes, stores or validates anything on its own. The value is entirely in what the skill files tell the model to do, and the README does not reproduce that content.

How the plugin registers ten commands inside Claude Code

The repository layout is three entries at the top level: .claude-plugin/, README.md and skills/. That tells you where the mechanism lives. The .claude-plugin/ directory is what Claude Code reads to treat the repository as a marketplace, and skills/ holds the individual skill definitions that the ten commands map onto.

The data flow is short. You add the repository as a marketplace, then install the plugin named minimalist-entrepreneur. Claude Code fetches the repository and registers the skills, after which each slash command in the README's table becomes available in a session. When you invoke one, the model reads the corresponding skill content and follows it. The README states that Claude Code "will fetch the repo and register all 10 skills automatically."

That is the whole architecture. There is no server, no API, no persistent state between runs. Two consequences follow. First, updates arrive only when the plugin is refetched, so the version you have is the version you installed. Second, the quality of each command is exactly the quality of the prompt behind it, and the README does not show those prompts. Anyone evaluating this on substance rather than on the book's reputation has to open skills/ and read.

Installing it and running your first command

Installation happens inside Claude Code, not in a shell. The README gives two commands, the first to register the repository as a plugin marketplace and the second to install the plugin itself.

bash
/plugin marketplace add slavingia/skills
/plugin install minimalist-entrepreneur

After the second command, the ten skills should be registered and available as slash commands. The README's phrasing is that Claude Code fetches the repo and registers all 10 skills automatically, so the expected result is the command list from the table becoming available in your session.

If you would rather not have Claude Code fetch from GitHub, the README documents a local-clone alternative. Clone the repository into the plugins directory, then point the marketplace command at that path instead of at the GitHub slug.

bash
git clone https://github.com/slavingia/skills.git ~/.claude/plugins/skills

Then, in Claude Code, add the local path as the marketplace and install the plugin the same way.

bash
/plugin marketplace add ~/.claude/plugins/skills
/plugin install minimalist-entrepreneur

For a first real use, pick a command that matches a decision you are actually facing rather than one you are curious about. If you are deciding what to charge, /pricing is the obvious entry point; if you want the broadest test of whether the plugin suits you, /minimalist-review takes any business decision as input. What you should see is the model working through that decision in the book's terms. What you should not expect is a report, a file or any artefact that outlives the conversation.

The limitation: a prompt pack cannot enforce anything

The honest failure mode is that this is advice delivery, not capability. Every command produces text in a chat session. Nothing checks whether the pricing you settled on is above cost, whether the community you picked exists, or whether the MVP you scoped is smaller than the one you scoped last month. If you want a tool that constrains scope or tracks a decision over time, this is the wrong tool, and no amount of skill content changes that.

A second constraint is coupling. The plugin only works inside Claude Code. The installation instructions are Claude Code slash commands, and the README offers no path for other assistants. If your team works across several editors or chat tools, half of them cannot use this at all.

A third issue is that the README documents installation and the command table, and little else. It does not describe what each skill actually instructs the model to do, how long the skill files are, whether the commands accept arguments, or how to remove the plugin once installed. The repository metadata also does not surface a licence, so the terms under which you may reuse or redistribute the skill content are not stated in what is available here. That is a gap worth closing before you build anything on top of it. The last push to the repository was on 2026-04-14.

Compared with reading the book or writing your own skills

The nearest alternative is the book itself, at minimalistentrepreneur.com, which the repository links as its homepage. The difference in approach is delivery, not content. A book presents the argument once, in order, and leaves you to decide when each part applies. This repository assumes you have the argument and want the right part surfaced at the moment of the decision, inside the tool where you are already working. If you have not read the book, the commands will read as unexplained assertions, because the reasoning lives in the book and the skills are downstream of it.

The second alternative is writing your own Claude Code skills. That is the more interesting comparison, because the mechanism is the same and only the content differs. If you already have strong opinions about how to validate an idea or price a product, your own skill file will fit your process more closely than a general one derived from someone else's book. What you get from this repository is a pre-written set covering the whole arc from community to culture, without the work of authoring ten skills. What you give up is control over the framing, which is the entire point of the book it is based on.

Maintenance, upgrade cost and licence questions

There are no releases in the repository metadata, so there is no versioned upgrade path. The last push was on 2026-04-14. Updates, when they come, arrive through the plugin mechanism: Claude Code refetches the repository, and the skills you have are replaced by whatever is on the default branch. That means an upgrade can change how a command behaves without a version number to pin against, which matters if you have built a habit around a specific command's output.

Running costs are the ordinary costs of using Claude Code, since the plugin adds no service of its own. The upgrade cost is the time to notice that a command's behaviour shifted and to adjust, and there is no changelog in what is available to help with that.

On licensing, the repository metadata does not state a licence. The book it is based on is a separate work with its own rights, and the repository is described as skills based on that book. Whether you can fork the skills, ship them inside your own product, or repackage them for a team is not answered by anything available here. Check the repository for a licence file before you redistribute the skill content; this is a question for whoever owns the rights, not a legal conclusion.

Editorial conclusion

Adopt slavingia/skills if you already work inside Claude Code and want the book's sequence available as slash commands rather than as notes you have to reread. Skip it if you do not use Claude Code, if you need a tool that enforces anything, or if you want the underlying ideas without the book's framing. Before relying on it, check the skills/ directory for the files behind each command, confirm the plugin registers all ten skills in your Claude Code version, and read the licence file, which the repository metadata does not surface.

Frequently asked questions

How do I install slavingia/skills in Claude Code?

Run /plugin marketplace add slavingia/skills and then /plugin install minimalist-entrepreneur inside Claude Code. The README states that Claude Code will fetch the repo and register all 10 skills automatically. A local-clone alternative is documented if you prefer not to fetch from GitHub.

How do I use the skills in Claude Code after installing?

Each skill is exposed as a slash command, such as /find-community, /validate-idea, /mvp, /pricing or /minimalist-review. The README's table pairs every command with the situation it is meant for, so you invoke the one matching the decision in front of you.

Can I install slavingia/skills from GitHub without the marketplace command?

Yes. The README documents cloning the repository into ~/.claude/plugins/skills with git clone, then running /plugin marketplace add against that local path followed by /plugin install minimalist-entrepreneur.

How do I use the skills in Claude?

The README describes the plugin as a set of Claude Code skills, each invoked as a slash command such as /find-community or /pricing. Installation is done through the Claude Code plugin marketplace commands rather than through a separate tool.

How do I install the skills in Claude?

The documented path is the Claude Code plugin marketplace: add slavingia/skills as a marketplace and install minimalist-entrepreneur. The README does not give a separate installation route for Claude outside Claude Code.

Official sources

  1. Issues
  2. Project website
  3. README
  4. slavingia/skills on GitHub
Add this badge to your README

If you maintain this project, the badge below links readers to this analysis and shows its maintenance status from the daily GitHub snapshot. Paste the markdown into your README; add ?metric=license or ?metric=stars to the image URL for a different field.

Add this badge to your README

markdown
[![Hysen Labs](https://hysenlabs.com/badge/slavingia-skills.svg)](https://hysenlabs.com/projects/slavingia-skills)