chiphuyen/aie-book: what the AI Engineering companion repo actually contains
[WIP] Resources for AI engineers. Also contains supporting materials for the book AI Engineering (Chip Huyen, 2025)
At a glance
- What is it?
- The aie-book repo is a set of supporting materials for Chip Huyen's 2025 book AI Engineering, not a code library. Here is what is in it, what it will not give you, and who should skip it.
- Who is it for?
- Adopt aie-book if you are reading AI Engineering and want the chapter summaries, prompt examples and case studies in a form you can search and link to, or if you want the ai-heatmap notebook as a starting point for visualising your own conversation exports. Do not adopt it if you are looking for a runnable AI application, a framework, or code you can install and call.
- Can I use it commercially?
- Not without permission. GitHub finds no licence file in the repository, and without a licence all rights are reserved by default: you may read the code but not reuse it. Check the README, or ask the authors, before using it.
- Is it still maintained?
- Yes. The repository last received commits 89 days ago.
- What is it written in?
- Mainly Jupyter Notebook, according to GitHub's language statistics.
Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on September 29, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.
Editorial analysis
What chiphuyen/aie-book is, and what it is not
This repository is the companion material for the book AI Engineering (Chip Huyen, 2025). The README is explicit that it is not a tutorial book and that it therefore does not carry a lot of code snippets. That single sentence should set your expectations for the whole repo. What you get is prose and reference material: a table of contents, chapter summaries, study notes, a resources list, prompt examples, case studies, a section on misalignment, an appendix, and a translations list. The top level of the repository matches that description: README.md, ToC.md, ToC.pdf, appendix.md, case-studies.md, chapter-summaries.md, misalignment.md, prompt-examples.md, resources.md, study-notes.md, translations.md, an assets directory, and a scripts directory.
The audience named in the README is technical: AI engineers, ML engineers, data scientists, engineering managers and technical product managers. It also lists tool developers looking for underserved areas, researchers wanting use cases, and job candidates trying to work out what an AI engineer actually does. If you are none of those, the repo has little for you. It is a reading companion, and the primary artefact it accompanies is a paid book sold on Amazon, O'Reilly, Kindle and Audible.
The contents, file by file
The README links each top-level file to a purpose, and those links are the fastest way to decide whether the repo is worth cloning. ToC.md holds the table of contents, with a PDF version at ToC.pdf. chapter-summaries.md condenses each chapter. study-notes.md is a separate set of notes, presumably the author's working notes rather than a summary. resources.md is the external reading list. prompt-examples.md collects prompt examples. case-studies.md holds the case studies referenced in the book. misalignment.md covers the misalignment topic. appendix.md is the appendix. translations.md lists the languages the book has been translated into, with links to Japanese, Korean, Chinese Traditional, Chinese Simplified, Vietnamese, Spanish, Italian, French, Portuguese, German, Thai, Russian and Polish editions, and a note that Greek, Ukrainian and Uzbek are coming.
One entry is different in kind: scripts/ai-heatmap.ipynb, described in the README as a ChatGPT and Claude conversation heatmap generator and grouped under "Fun tools". It is the only notebook in the repository and the only item that takes data in and produces a visual output. The repository's primary language is listed as Jupyter Notebook, which is slightly misleading given how much of the repo is Markdown. If you came here expecting a notebook collection, the scripts directory is the only place to look.
Using the repo: there is no install step
There is no package to install. The README gives no install steps, no dependency file and no entry point other than the book itself. The practical route is to read the Markdown files directly on the repository page or download the repository contents, then open the one notebook in a Jupyter environment. Because the README documents no environment and the repository listing shows no requirements file, the notebook's own cells are the only specification for what it needs.
Reading chapter-summaries.md first is the cheapest way to decide whether the full book covers what you need, and ToC.md tells you which chapters exist before you buy anything. The one runnable artefact is the heatmap notebook, which the README points to at scripts/ai-heatmap.ipynb and describes as a generator for ChatGPT and Claude conversation heatmaps. The README does not state which Python version, which libraries or which input format it expects, so any missing imports will surface as errors when you execute the cells. That is a real cost of a repository that is documentation first.
The work-in-progress warning is the main limitation
The README opens with a note that the repo will be updated with more resources in the next few weeks. That is the author's own framing, and it means the material is incomplete by design. Sections may be thin, links may point at content that has not been written yet, and the structure may change. The last push to the repository was on 2026-07-03, so it has not been touched recently; do not plan around updates arriving on a schedule.
There is a second, harder limitation. The licence is not stated in the repository metadata. For a repo whose value is the written text, that matters: you cannot assume you may republish chapter summaries, prompt examples or case studies in your own documentation or training material. The README does not grant any reuse rights, and it does not address the question. If you need to quote at length, the absence of a licence is a blocker you have to resolve with the author, not something you can read past.
A third limitation is structural. The book deliberately avoids tying itself to specific tools or APIs, on the argument that tools become outdated quickly while fundamentals last longer. That is a defensible editorial choice, and it is also why this repo will not tell you which vector database to pick or which serving stack to use. If you want current tooling comparisons, resources.md is a reading list, not a decision guide.
How it differs from a code-first AI repository
The obvious comparison is with a framework repository such as LangChain or LlamaIndex, where the README leads with an install command and a few lines that produce output. aie-book inverts that: the README leads with a book cover image, purchase links and a list of translations. The deliverable is understanding, and the repository is the supporting apparatus.
The difference in approach shows up in what each can answer. A framework repo answers "how do I call this function". aie-book answers the questions the README lists, which are evaluation, hallucination detection and mitigation, prompt engineering practice, why RAG works, when to finetune and when not to, data volume and validation, and cost, latency and security trade-offs. Those are questions a framework's documentation rarely addresses because they are not about the API surface.
If you want both, they are complementary rather than competing. Use a framework repository for the mechanics and this repo for the reasoning about whether the mechanics are the right ones. Just do not expect the two to be the same kind of artefact, and do not expect aie-book to hand you a runnable pipeline.
Maintenance, licence and the cost of depending on it
Maintenance here is light by nature. A documentation repository does not have dependency upgrades or breaking API changes; it has edits. The last push was on 2026-07-03, and the README's promise of more resources in the coming weeks is the only forward-looking statement in the repository. No releases are listed, so there is no version to pin and no changelog to follow. The upgrade cost of adopting it is effectively zero and the maintenance cost of depending on it is also near zero, because you are copying links and reading prose rather than importing a library.
The licence question is the one that carries real consequences. The repository metadata does not state a licence, and the README does not discuss one. That means the default position is that no reuse rights have been granted. Reading the material locally, linking to it, and citing it are ordinary uses; redistributing the summaries, bundling the prompt examples into a product, or republishing the case studies are not things the repository authorises. This is not legal advice, and if your use is commercial or involves redistribution, the answer has to come from the author or a lawyer rather than from this page.
Editorial conclusion
Adopt aie-book if you are reading AI Engineering and want the chapter summaries, prompt examples and case studies in a form you can search and link to, or if you want the ai-heatmap notebook as a starting point for visualising your own conversation exports. Do not adopt it if you are looking for a runnable AI application, a framework, or code you can install and call. Before relying on anything here, check the README's own note that the repo is a work in progress, confirm the licence status yourself, and read ToC.md to see whether the chapter you care about is covered before you spend time on the rest.
Frequently asked questions
Is chiphuyen/aie-book the AI Engineering book itself?
No. It is a repository of supporting materials for the book AI Engineering by Chip Huyen, published in 2025. The README links to Amazon, O'Reilly, Kindle and Audible for the book itself, and states that the repo holds resources such as chapter summaries, prompt examples and case studies.
Is there a free PDF of the AI Engineering book in the repository?
The repository listing contains ToC.pdf, which the README describes as the table of contents, not the book. The book is sold through Amazon, O'Reilly, Kindle and Audible according to the README, and no full-text PDF is listed among the top-level files.
What is the ai-heatmap.ipynb notebook in aie-book?
The README lists it under fun tools as a ChatGPT and Claude conversation heatmap generator, located at scripts/ai-heatmap.ipynb. It is the only notebook in the repository and the only item described as producing an output.
Who is the aie-book repository written for?
The README names AI engineers, ML engineers, data scientists, engineering managers and technical product managers as the primary audience, and adds tool developers, researchers and job candidates seeking clarity on AI engineering skills. The book is described as technical, so the language assumes a technical reader.
Does the aie-book repository have a licence?
The repository metadata does not state a licence, and the README does not mention one. Without a stated licence, no reuse rights are granted by default, so redistribution of the summaries, prompt examples or case studies is not something the repository authorises.
Official sources
Add this badge to your README
If you maintain this project, the badge below links readers to this analysis and shows its maintenance status from the daily GitHub snapshot. Paste the markdown into your README; add ?metric=license or ?metric=stars to the image URL for a different field.
[](https://hysenlabs.com/projects/chiphuyen-aie-book)