roboflow/notebooks: 61 Computer Vision Tutorials You Can Run in Colab
A collection of tutorials on state-of-the-art computer vision models and techniques. Explore everything from foundational architectures like ResNet to cutting-edge models like RF-DETR, YOLO11, SAM 3, and Qwen3-VL.
At a glance
- What is it?
- A Jupyter notebook collection covering detection, segmentation, keypoints, OCR and vision-language models, with Colab, Kaggle and SageMaker Studio Lab launch badges. The value is in the runnable examples, not in a library you install.
- Who is it for?
- Adopt roboflow/notebooks if you need a working reference for a specific model before committing to it: open the matching notebook in Colab, run it end to end, and only then decide whether the model fits. Skip it if you want a versioned library, a stable API, or a dependency you can pin in a production build, because this repository ships tutorials and not a package.
- Can I use it commercially?
- Not without permission. GitHub finds no licence file in the repository, and without a licence all rights are reserved by default: you may read the code but not reuse it. Check the README, or ask the authors, before using it.
- Is it still maintained?
- Yes. The repository last received commits 8 days ago.
- What is it written in?
- Mainly Jupyter Notebook, according to GitHub's language statistics.
Answers come from the project's GitHub data, last synced on September 29, 2026, and from our analysis. They are not legal advice.
Editorial analysis
What roboflow/notebooks actually is, and who it is for
This repository is a tutorial collection, not a library. The README describes it as "a growing collection of computer vision tutorials" and the autogenerated table lists 61 model notebooks covering object detection, segmentation, pose and keypoint detection, tracking, OCR and data extraction. The topics list adds automatic labeling, open-vocabulary detection and segmentation, zero-shot classification, and vision-language models.
The intended reader is someone who needs to see a model run before deciding whether to invest in it. Each notebook targets one model or one technique: RF-DETR keypoint detection, YOLO26 fine-tuning on a custom dataset, ByteTrack tracking, GLM-OCR, object detection with Gemini 3.5 Flash. If you are evaluating a detector for a warehouse camera or checking whether a VLM can read invoices, a runnable notebook answers the question faster than a paper.
The repository is not a framework you import. There is no published package in the README, and the only release listed is 1.0.0 from 2022-12-01, which does not correspond to the current notebook set. Treat it as documentation with executable cells.
How the notebook table and the Colab badges work
The README table is machine-generated. A comment in the README states the table is autogenerated and that manual edits should go through CONTRIBUTING.md instead. Each row pairs a notebook path in the notebooks/ directory with three launch badges (Colab, Kaggle, SageMaker Studio Lab), optional complementary materials such as a YouTube walkthrough, and a link to the upstream model repository or paper.
That layout tells you the data flow. The notebook lives in this repository; the badge URL points at the raw notebook path on GitHub, so Colab clones the notebook and runs it in a hosted runtime. The upstream link in the last column is where the actual model code lives, which matters because the notebook is a consumer of that code, not its source. When a model repository changes its API, the notebook is the thing that breaks.
The automation/ directory at the top level is consistent with the autogenerated table: the README is assembled rather than hand-edited. For a reader, the practical consequence is that the table is a reliable index of what exists, but the prose around it is thin. There is no per-notebook changelog and no statement of which notebooks were re-run after an upstream release.
Running your first notebook: RF-DETR keypoint detection in Colab
The README does not document a local install, a pip package or a CLI. The documented entry point is the launch badge. To follow the keypoint tutorial, open the notebook path in Colab, which the badge does for you by pointing at the raw file on GitHub:
https://colab.research.google.com/github/roboflow-ai/notebooks/blob/main/notebooks/rf-detr-keypoint-detection.ipynbOnce the notebook is open, run the cells from the top. The first cells install dependencies with pip and download the model weights, which is why a GPU runtime is the sensible choice for a detection or fine-tuning notebook. The README does not list the exact package names, so read the install cell before running it rather than assuming a specific version.
The same pattern applies to the other entries. For tracking, the notebook how-to-track-objects-with-bytetrack-tracker.ipynb links to the roboflow/trackers repository and to the ByteTrack paper, so you can compare the notebook's usage against the upstream implementation. For a fine-tuning run, train-yolo26-object-detection-on-custom-dataset.ipynb is the relevant starting point and expects a detection dataset rather than a folder of loose images.
If you want to run locally instead of in Colab, nothing in the README prevents it, but you are on your own for the environment: create a virtual environment, install Jupyter, then install whatever the notebook's install cell specifies. The repository provides no requirements file at the top level.
Where the tutorial format breaks down
The first limitation is version drift. Notebooks pin nothing at the repository level, and the upstream repositories in the last table column move independently. A notebook that worked when it was merged can fail months later because a model package renamed an argument. The repository publishes no compatibility matrix, so the only way to know whether a notebook still runs is to run it.
The second is licence ambiguity. The repository's own licence is not stated in the README, and the notebooks pull in third-party models with their own terms. A tutorial that downloads weights for a research model does not tell you whether you may use those weights commercially. That question has to be answered per model repository, not per notebook.
The third is that a notebook is a demonstration, not a pipeline. There is no error handling, no batching strategy, no test suite and no serving code. Copying cells into a service tends to produce something that works on one image and falls over on a stream. The collection also assumes network access and, in the default path, a hosted runtime, so anyone working with data that cannot leave their environment needs to port the notebook locally before doing anything real.
How this differs from Ultralytics or Detectron2
The closest comparison is a maintained framework such as Ultralytics or Detectron2. Those ship an installable package with a documented API, versioned releases and a test suite; you write code against them and pin a version. roboflow/notebooks ships the opposite: a set of notebooks that depend on such packages and show one way to call them. The difference in approach is dependency direction. With a framework, the code is the product and the documentation describes it. Here, the notebook is the product and the framework is a dependency.
That makes the two complementary rather than competing. A reasonable workflow is to use a notebook to learn the shape of the API and confirm that a model handles your images, then move to the upstream package for the actual build, pinning the version you validated against. The notebook is the disposable part; the package is what you keep.
There is also a case for the notebook set over a framework's own documentation. A framework's docs show canonical usage on a clean dataset. These notebooks show end-to-end runs that include dataset download, fine-tuning and inference, which is closer to what you actually do on the first day.
Maintenance, licence and what to check before adopting
The repository is not archived and the last push was on 2026-08-14, roughly a month before this writing, so the collection is being extended. That does not mean every notebook is current. The single listed release, 1.0.0 from 2022-12-01, predates most of the models in the table, so release tags are not a useful signal of freshness here. The last push date is the only maintenance fact the README supports.
The upgrade cost is per-notebook. There is no changelog and no migration guide, so when an upstream model changes, you find out by running the notebook and reading the traceback. Budget for that rather than assuming a notebook is frozen.
On licensing: the repository's licence is not stated in the README, and the notebooks reference third-party model repositories and papers with their own terms. A permissive licence on a tutorial does not extend to the weights it downloads. Check the licence of each upstream repository you actually intend to use, and treat the notebook's own terms as a separate question. This is not legal advice; it is a note that the answer is not in this repository.
Editorial conclusion
Adopt roboflow/notebooks if you need a working reference for a specific model before committing to it: open the matching notebook in Colab, run it end to end, and only then decide whether the model fits. Skip it if you want a versioned library, a stable API, or a dependency you can pin in a production build, because this repository ships tutorials and not a package. Before you build on any single notebook, verify three things yourself: the licence of the underlying model repository, whether the notebook's install cells pin versions, and whether your data can leave your environment, since the default path runs in a hosted notebook.
Frequently asked questions
Is roboflow/notebooks a library I can install with pip?
No. The README presents it as a collection of tutorials, and no package name or install command appears there. The documented way to use a notebook is to open it in Colab, Kaggle or SageMaker Studio Lab through the badge in the table.
How do I run a roboflow/notebooks tutorial?
Open the notebook through its Colab or Kaggle badge, then run the cells from the top. The first cells install dependencies and download model weights, so a GPU runtime is the practical choice for detection and fine-tuning notebooks.
What models are covered in roboflow/notebooks?
The README describes coverage from foundational architectures like ResNet to RF-DETR, YOLO11, SAM 3 and Qwen3-VL, and the autogenerated table lists 61 model notebooks spanning detection, segmentation, pose, tracking, OCR and data extraction.
Official sources
Add this badge to your README
If you maintain this project, the badge below links readers to this analysis and shows its maintenance status from the daily GitHub snapshot. Paste the markdown into your README; add ?metric=license or ?metric=stars to the image URL for a different field.
[](https://hysenlabs.com/projects/roboflow-notebooks)